Skip to main content

UK band Evans the Death signs to Slumberland, debut album due April 2012

By December 12, 2011No Comments

VIDEO: I’m So Unclean

VIDEO: Threads

Evans the Death are all set to release their self-titled debut album in April 2012 via Slumberland Records in the US and Fortuna POP! in the UK / Europe. Filled with twelve blistering tracks they weave a distinctive magic, coupling main songwriter Dan Moss’ gift for melody with Katherine Whitaker’s unique vocal mannerisms. The songs both document and channel the exuberance of youth via the prism of five pop music obsessives and were recorded late Summer 2011 with producer, Ex-Test Icicle and current Warm Brains man Rory Atwell (Veronica Falls, Male Bonding, The Vaccines). Dan describes what the band were aiming for:

“We wanted to make the best sounding record that we possibly could as we’re bored of bands just settling for a half-arsed sound. There were no real fixed reference points when we made it; we just borrowed stuff from any of the pop music that we’ve grown up with. I think it’s also a very economical album. There’s no dilly-dallying around when there should instead be a hook there. We’re very proud of it and glad we paid little or no attention to what is currently fashionable in music.”

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas’s Under Milk Wood, Evans the Death comprise of Dan Moss (guitar, vocals), Katherine Whitaker (vocals, keys), Olly Moss (guitar), Rob Mitson (drums), and newest member Lan McCardle (bass) – original guitarist Matt Gill having left the band following the completion of the album. Attuned as much to the lyrical dexterity of Morrissey, Lawrence Felt, Edwyn Collins, and Jarvis Cocker, as to the scuzzed up melodic exuberance of early My Bloody Valentine, Pavement, The Pixies, and the I Am Kurious Oranj-era of The Fall, the band effortlessly blend precocious musical literacy with the kind of unerring self-awareness which makes for a perfectly pitched pop sensibility.

Following the release of their instantly acclaimed debut single ‘Threads’ and the equally brilliant second single ‘I’m So Unclean’, Evans the Death have been given extensive airtime on BBC Radio 1 and BBC 6Music, as well being made John Kennedy’s ‘Xposure Big One’ on XFM. The press have not been slow to follow with glowing reviews in:

Artrocker: “A wonderful marriage of converse elements elegantly crafted into its own neat mess” *****

This Is Fake DIY: “brash and urgent in the very best way”

SoundsXP: “plenty of wit and masses of noise, a marker for even better things to come”

An extensive UK tour earlier this year and constant gigging in London has helped to hone their performances into thrilling, energy-packed live shows.

The band will be recording a session for XFM’s John Kennedy on Tuesday 13th December and play Radio One’s Huw Stephen’s night at the Social on the same evening, before kicking off the new year with a slot at the Fortuna POP! Winter Sprinter on Friday January 6th. They will tour North America later in 2012. With their infectious and frenetic brand of guitar pop making them one of the most exhilarating new groups around, Evans The Death are certain to make a big impression in 2012. They plan to tour North America in late Spring.

Links: Facebook//Myspace//Press Materials