Skip to main content


       Photo Credit: Casey Catelli – (Click Image for High Res)



When the beach party film revival arrives, Ted Feighan (aka Monster Rally) will be the Ennio Morricone of its resurgence. ‘Mystery Cove,’ the forthcoming Monster Rally album, is a soundtrack to an imaginary movie both fit for the vaults of TMC and primed for a grindhouse exploitation flick screening. Mystery Cove contains a narrative arc of young lovers on an island getaway. As the grooves spin, Monster Rally reveals a cabalistic presence in the jungle that leads them on an adventure of surf competitions (“The Big Surf”), voodoo terror (“Tourismo”), and plenty of slushy cocktails (“After Hours”). The occult meets the salt-rimmed rum mix on Mystery Cove. ‘Mystery Cove’ is out November 11 via Gold Robot Records. Pre-order the album here. Stream the album’s first single “Pelicans” on SoundCloud and Bandcamp.

Since his Coral LP, Monster Rally has been an analog to the exotica forefathers. His reinvention of cocktail music via luau-loops and tchotchke breaks evokes a mondo vision of the subgenre. With Mystery Cove, the quiet village is not what it seems, and every resort comes at the cost of indigenous displacement. Beyond the florals and brightly feathered fauna is inferno in paradise.

Current Release (click artwork for high res)


Monster Rally
Mystery Cove
[Gold Robot Records] Release Date: November 11, 2016
1. Washed Ashore
2. Full Sail
3. Pelicans
4. In The Valleys
5. The Birds Pt 4
6. Island Romance
7. Banana Bread
8. Mystic
9. The Island School
10. In The Canopy
11. The Big Surf
12. Tourismo
13. Moonlight Chase
14. Moondog
15. After Hours
16. Burning Citrus
17. The Tiki Room
18. Smokey Cabana
19. Little Buddy
20. Misty Sunset