Skip to main content

Cairobi Portraits Amelia Orange (Purple)



it’s an elaborate, liberating neo-psych exploration that tunnels upwards, climbing stratospherically without ever splintering into chaos” -Under The Radar

Walls of grunge-gaze fuzz meet polyrhythms and tropical pop” -The Line Of Best Fit

Floating, decentred psychedelic music that feels festival-ready” -Stereogum


Cairobi have announced their new single “Lupo,” which will be available on July 1, and debut self-titled album Cairobi which will be released on September 16 through Week of Wonders. They have also announced a headline show at London’s Birthdays on July 25.

Cairobi are a headily eclectic globe-crossing fourpiece of Giorgio Poti (vocals, guitars), Alessandro Marrosu (bass), Salvador Garza (keys) and Aurelien Bernard (drums). Their psych-pop, world music bordering sound reflects their various backgrounds from Italy and Mexico via France, and has received support from the likes of 6Music and Huw Stephens at Radio1.

“Lupo” follows the band’s 2014 Distant Fire EP and the single “Gristly Words,” which is taken from their forthcoming debut record along with EP track Zoraide. Lupo is a hypnotically lush yet despondently exultant track featuring exotic grooves and synth-dappled psychedelic haziness and can be listened to here “Lupo.”

Their debut self-produced album was written in Berlin and, fittingly with their diverse nationalities, was recorded between Berlin, London, Rome and New York. Music and this resulting album was Giorgio’s means of finding his way through health problems, as after relocating to Berlin, he started to suffer frequent, violent migraines that would incapacitate him for an average of twelve days a month.

“I could either stay still, in silence, eyes shut, or take the medication and hope it worked so I could move on with my day,” he recalls. “Even when the medicine
worked, it would make me extremely sleepy, so some of the music and lyrics on this record were written in a state of drowsiness. That part wasn’t particularly fun, but maybe it helped me get rid of some filters. Luckily, the headaches stopped after about a year.”

The finished record has an inventive hazy psychedelic sound with gorgeous pop-song structures and experimental arrangements, yet there is also an intriguing, melodious melancholy across the 11-tracks.

(Week of Wonders)
Release Date: September 16th, 2016

 Track List:
1. Germ
2. Gristly Words
3. Step Aside
4. Lupo
5. Systems Of Mutual Doubt
6. Habitat
7. Saint
8. From Some Other Planet’s Sky
9. Ghost
10. Zoraide
11. No Better Ending


Cairobi Links: