Skip to main content

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 16.33.03

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 16.33.09

(Photos by Ronan McCall)



Night Fiction is Cian Nugent’s third album but his first taking on the role of singer-songwriter. Where his previous two albums: 2013’s Born With The Caul and 2011’s Doubles saw him exploring extended guitar based instrumentals with his band, The Cosmos, here he has reigned things in and focused his songwriting skills. Guitar fans, do not fear, there is still plenty of soloing and fingerpicking here. With 7 songs both solo and with his band, this album amalgamates everything Cian has done up to this point and reveals a more broad palate of influences, including The Velvet Underground, Richard Thompson, Television, Neil Young, John Lennon, Fred Neil, etc.

Recorded over a week beginning on Valentine’s Day 2015, Night Fiction was recorded in Bow Lane Studios in Dublin with Daniel Fox (Girl Band) and mixed by Brendan Jenkinson. The album’s seven songs include solo ventures as well as full-band recordings feat. David Lacey on drums, Conor Lumsden on bass, Brendan Jenkinson on organ and piano and Ailbhe Nic Oireachtaigh on viola. The vibe here is familiar yet refreshing and a logical progression for Cian.

Current Release


Cian Nugent
Night Fiction
Street Date: Jan 29, 2016

Track Listing:

1 – Lost Your Way
2 – First Run
3 – Shadows
4 – Lucy
5 – Things Don’t Change That Fast
6 – Nightlife
7 – Year of the Snake