Skip to main content

cosmonauts high res-1

Photo Credit : Angela Ratzlaff




Cosmonauts came into being in 2009 in outer space or Orange County, depending on the way you like to look at things. The band was originally formed by Derek Cowart and Alexander Ahmadi after he heard Cowart play a Spaceman3 song solo at a show in their home town of Fullerton, CA. The two were students at different high schools but as it turned out, of the same musical school of thought: two lovers of lo­fi, adorers of the atmospheric, kindred pop­loving spirits. The two bonded over the Velvet Underground and Brian Jonestown Massacre, and quickly turned their mutual appreciation club into a band. Cosmonauts have been making music ever since, picking up bassist James Sanderson and a host of different drummers along the way (the spot is currently filled by Mark Morones). Now residing in Los Angeles, they’ve put out a number of releases (including three full length albums) through Burger Records and various other labels.
They’ve toured extensively through the US and Europe, and played alongside Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Pixies, Slowdive, Black Lips, Belle & Sebastian, and more, though Cosmonauts don’t exactly fit neatly into the fabric of their scene: too psychedelic to be punk, too punk to be psychedelic, and too absorbed in making their own brand of music to care.
Their latest offering, A­OK!, is out August 19th via Burger Records.
 Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 12.50.33 PM
Burger Records
Street Date: August 19, 2016
Track List:
1. A-OK!
2. Doom Generation
3. Party At Sunday
4. Be-Bop-A-Loser
5. Shortwave Communication
6. Heavenspeak
7. Good Lucky Blessing
8. Cruisin’
9. Discophilia
10. Graffiti