Skip to main content

(Photo Credit:  Photo by Sebastian Matthes – click image for high-res version)



Manchester’s idiosyncratic art-popologists DutchUncles return with Big Balloontheir new studio album, on February 17 on Memphis Industries.

Taking musical inspiration from Kate Bush‘s The Red ShoesLow-era David Bowie, some slightly-less fashionable records belonging to their Dads and East European techno, Big Balloon is the fifth DutchUncles studio album and the follow-up to 2015’s acclaimed O Shudder.

Big Balloon is the latest chapter in Dutch Uncles’ brilliantly witty, hip-swiveling, left-field adventures and was recorded in Manchester’s Old Granada TV Studios where Sex Pistols and Joy Division made their televisual debuts.

Big Balloon then is Dutch Uncles’ finest album to date, taking listeners on an exhilarating cerebral journey that marks them out a one of the UK’s most consistently forward thinking bands.

Dutch Uncles are Duncan WallisRobin RichardsPeter Broadhead and Andrew ProudfootBig Balloon is available to pre-order on limited edition clear 180gm vinyl and CD from the band’s website at and iTunes

Current Release





Dutch Uncles
Big Balloon
[Memphis Industries]
Street Date: February 17, 2017

1. Big Balloon
2. Baskin’
3. Combo Box
4. Same Plane Dream
5. Achameleon
6. Hiccup
7. Streetlight
8. Oh Yeah
9. Sink
10. Overton

Pics (click for high res)

Credit: Sebastian Matthes