Skip to main content

Photo Credit: Sophie Drucker


Garrett Pierce began writing for magazines and playing in rock bands as a teen in Los Angeles before permanently relocating to the Bay Area in the early 2000’s. His first full-length album ‘Like A Moth’ was a stripped down acoustic affair with guest appearances by notable songwriters Jolie Holland and Matt Bauer. Garrett then traveled and toured Europe where he was honored to support Nick Cave in Greece. With a pocketful of songs, he returned to make ‘All Masks’ (Crossbill Records) – a lush album recorded in the gold rush town of Columbia, CA featuring strings, wind instruments and a cast of over ten musicians.

Garrett’s 2012 record ‘City of Sand’ (Narnack Records) was largely biographical, commenting on his dizzying relationship with the city and growing desire to leave for more natural settings. During this period, Garrett began splitting his time between Sonoma County and San Francisco – playing clubs throughout the bay area at night and working in the wine industry during the day.

Garrett has completed his fourth record titled ‘Dusk’ which will be released on April 14, 2017 in partnership with Crossbill Records.

Other than continuing to be a voracious reader of classic American authors like Richard Brautigan, John Steinbeck, Ernest Hemingway and Henry Miller, he is an avid mushroom forager, and when he’s not in the studio you might find
him somewhere in the redwoods of the Sonoma Coast walking through the damp earth. For fans of Will Oldham, Iron & Wine, Jeff Buckley, and Elliot Smith.

“The artist’s ability to connect with his audience – to introduce us to feelings we didn’t know we could feel – is truly superb, an indicator of Garrett Pierce’s talent as a writer.” – Atwood Magazine

“Championing storytelling with a clean, methodical acoustic presentation, the intentionality in each inflection carries the weight of the sadness and reflection. 4/5.” – Impose

“On Dusk, his dramatic lyrics are influenced by literature greats such John Steinbeck and Hemingway while his calming voice soars over effortless musicianship with dark, ethereal melodies.”
– That Music Magazine

“Dusk is full of folksy acoustic guitar strumming, reflective lyrics and high harmonies.”
– The Sacramento Bee

“Ranging from raving pop to solemn folk, from Shins-like exuberance to
Mark Kozalek’s charismatic sadness” – East Bay Express

“Filled with the sort of oblique yet emotionally satisfying wordplay that is reminiscent
of a Murakami novel” – Santa Cruz Metro

Current Release

Garrett Pierce

Release Date: April 14, 2017
Pre-Order here

1. The Boat Song
2. Distant Thought
3. Don’t Hold Back
4. These Wounds
5. Enough
6. Greyhound Song
7. Get Me Out Of This Place
8. One Last Breath
9. Not A Religious Man
10. This Town Of Mine

[media]<iframe width=”100%” height=”450″ scrolling=”no” frameborder=”no” src=”;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false&amp;visual=true”></iframe>[/media]

Pics (click for high res)

Photo Credits: (1) Sophie Drucker; (2) Kayla Headley; (3) Shawn Robbins;(4) Sophie Drucker