Skip to main content

photo credit: Petra Collins



Goodbye Honolulu’s band journey is a story about growing up.

The Toronto band members met in high school (well actually Max and Emmett met on Halloween in 2nd Grade when they both turned up at school dressed as James Bond). During their teens they played in each other’s musical projects and even started their own label (that boasted a roster of 14 Toronto bands in its heyday). These formative years saw the Goodbye Honolulu members busy playing in bars, curating their own concerts and festivals, honing their live skills and self-releasing multiple albums a year on Bandcamp.

Their DIY teenage years laid the groundwork, but as they grew as songwriters, their aspirations grew and the four musicians decided to join forces and focus their energy into one project, this is the story of Goodbye Honolulu.

Goodbye Honolulu doesn’t have one frontman, Goodbye Honolulu has four individual songwriters and three frontmen who each bring a different quality and sound to the band. Combining their passion for 60’s garage rock, 80’s new wave, punk & electronic music, the band has created a collection of songs that never stick to one sound. 

The band cut their teeth playing rowdy and sweaty rooms across Canada and the USA, touring with bands such as Hinds, Kate Nash, The Beaches, Luna Li and more. 

They’ve also released three EPs More Honey (2018), No Honey (2017) and Heavy Gold (2016).

The two “Honey” EPs were recorded in Toronto with producer Mike Turner (Our Lady Peace) over a 12-month time period, finding time to sneak into the studio during off hours. These recordings capture the energy of Goodbye Honolulu’s early stage show and a permanent memory of what it was like to be an early 20-something in a rock ‘n’ roll band.

But over the last several years, Goodbye Honolulu has refused to let themselves be easily defined. As they’ve grown up, a new sound has started to take shape, the band began to draw from a wider range of influences and became less rigid about the music they make. 

Their upcoming and highly anticipated debut LP – described by the band as their “dream record” – blurs the lines between power-pop, country, hip hop, lo-fi and more. Working with seasoned-producers Ben Cook (Fucked Up, No Warning, Young Guv) and Tony Price (US Girls, Slim Twig, Ice Cream, Michael Rault) Goodbye Honolulu’s soon to be released 13 track s/t debut album leads the band down an entirely new path creatively and sonically. 

Current Release


Goodbye Honolulu
Goodbye Honolulu

(Stray Dog)
Street Date: Oct. 1, 2021

Track List:

1. Cut Off
2. U Got It
3. You and Me
4. Leave Your Love Behind
5. Get The Denim
6. Dye My Hair
7. Over and Over
8. Reason To Hate You
9. Shine
10. How Are You Doing
11.Ultraviolet Stone
12. Stray Dog
13. Make U Mine

Photos (click for hi-res)

photo credit: (1-2) Petra Collins