Skip to main content

photo credit: Joseph McMurray



Los Angeles artist Jonny Kosmo can best be described as zaney pop, funk-strange-soul. Feel-good and bouncy on the surface, a grounded ear yields psychologically thematic landscapes drawn from a history of working in mental health, bearing witness to metamorphic change and story; Musically and lyrically it seems to nod with gratitude for simply being alive. Live performances are characterized by community stage presence, brass sections, melting harmony, and occasional trampolines. Kosmo’s debut self-titled release Jonny Kosmo (2019) saw international releases on ChiChing Records (Taipei) and Slimer Records (Italy). Following Kosmo toured supporting Jerry Paper, sharing the stage locally with such acts as Gary Wilson, Guerilla Toss, and Reggie Watts. Kosmo’s newest record Pastry draws from funk, R&B, and sample influences all the while maintaining a sprinkle of Mr. Rogers. Out June 4th via Feeding Tube Records and Dinosaur City Records (AUS).

About Pastry:

Sugar on top and something nice!… Los Angles based artist Jonny Kosmo is back with LP number two Pastry, a tasty treat for the soul out June 4th on Feeding Tube Records and Dinosaur City Records (AUS). Honeyed in funk and R&B, and steeped in pop-strange composition, the sophomore record is lyrically psychological, touching upon themes of community, spiritual metamorphous, and inherent resiliency of spirit. These are spring- boarded by the records construction itself; songs often created from samples of others, continually folding in on itself. The pastiche speaks to the intention: the metanarrative of personal and communal change. Pastry was recorded and mixed at Kosmo’s home studio Slimehouse as well as Record Studio 22 with Tomas Dolas (The Oh Sees/Mr. Elevator) and mastered by Alex Cooley. All of the album’s artwork was created by local Northeast Los Angeles muralist Rodolfo Karodna in celebration of community essence.

Current Release

Jonny Kosmo
Feeding Tube (US) + Dinosaur City (AUS)
Street Date: June 4, 2021

Track List:

1. Sugar On Top
2. Caterpillar
3. Butterfly Handshake
4. Firefly
5. Fool
6. Panopticon
7. La Diabla
8. Tru
9. How High
10. All Strange Heros
11. Last Call
12. Figure It Out
13, Don’t Trip
14. Sugar On Top (Reprise)

Photos (click for hi-res)