Skip to main content



Having both come from a film background, brothers Nick and Shane Sullivan use their inspiration from directors like Tsai Ming-Liang and Andrei Tarkovsky to craft bleak and unadorned slowcore which emphasizes bizarre and ominous imagery, under the moniker Joyer. Their lyrics mix themes of environmental catastrophe, industrial decay, and internal struggle with an effort to stay positive and find contentment in personal meaning.

The Deli Magazine described Joyer’s music as “an engaging mix of slacker rock wordplay and discordant instrumentation, both boisterous in its separate parts yet quiet in execution.” Writing about their 2020 album Sun Into Flies, Post-Trash had this to say: “Joyer are quietly making some of the finest recent slowcore music […] To listen to Joyer is to miss live music: not of the large concert arena type, nor a neighborhood bar show, but simply just a wonderful house show.”

Their latest release, Perfect Gray, marks their debut on the Philadelphia-based label Julia’s War.

Current Release

Perfect Gray
(Julia’s War)
Street Date: September 24, 2021

Track List:

1. Worst Thing
2. Crows
3. Perfect Gray
4. In The Dirt
5. Creek
6. Milk
7. Cranky Boy
8. Nothing
9. Lucky
10. I Was Wrong
11. Rain Came Down Sideways
12. Two Times
13. Pulled Teeth
14. Finally One
15. Breeze

Photos (click for hi-res)