Skip to main content



On November 20 Martin Crane is set to release his first solo effort, Physical Therapy on INSCAPE. Though Physical Therapy is the first under his own name, Martin has been in music for years as the main force behind Brazos (Dead Oceans) and as the composer/music supervisor of projects such as the Academy Award nominated Cutie and the Boxer and Hugh the Hunter (2015 Sundance premier).Physical Therapy defines a new style for Martin, uniting his distinctive lyrical voice with the push and pull of a live rock band and the sonic textures of top 40 pop. Martin recorded the album twice – once as a live-performance recording with fellow collaborators Ian Chang (Son Lux, Matthew Dear, Landlady) and Spencer Zahn (Twin Shadow, Empress Of) and once as a solo record using Ableton. The best ideas of each recording were combined to create the unique hybrid style of Physical Therapy. Martin mixed the songs himself, leaving the last step to veteran mastering engineer Chris Gehringer (Drake, Katy Perry, Jay Z, Rihanna). The result is a record with the sonic power of today’s pop music that feels handmade.

Through the course of the album, the songs move from outside in. Songs like “Physical Therapy” and “Modern World” look out at the environment, while “Gunk of Stars,” the stylistic centerpiece of the record, is a cosmic take on the in-turning feedback loops of social media. “Gadesco,” “Heaven Is a Dancer,” “Waterbed,” and “Lights Out” are love songs that border on the spiritual. Martin’s lyrics can run from flippant to sincere, but always at their core is an approachable sense mysticism.

Physical Therapy comes out digitally on November 20 on INSCAPE.

Current Release (click artwork for high res)


Martin Crane
Physical Therapy
Release Date: November 20, 2015

Track List:

1. Amanda’s House
2. Physical Therapy
3. Modern World
4. Gunk of Stars
5. Gadesco
6. Heaven Is A Dancer
7. Lights Out
8. Interlude
9. Waterbed

Pics (click for high res)







Photo Credit: Christine Hahn