Skip to main content



Ben Cook is, among many other things, the very industrious Young Guv. From acting to writing/producing to playing guitar and screaming in hardcore bands, Guv has done it all and is well on his way to seeing it all as well. After nearly 10 years of releasing singles, flexis and tapes under the Young Guv moniker, 2015 saw the release of the brilliant “Ripe 4 Luv” mini-album. A tour de force of power-pop invention and jangle/fuzz guitar heroics, “Ripe 4 Luv” opened a lot of ears and turned a lot of heads, and picked up a nomination for Canada’s Polaris music prize along the way.

Now, after a rather twisted 2016 of travel, change and discovery, Guv is back with this new single “Traumatic.” Recorded at home on trusty 1/4″ analog tape, it’s a self-reflective and personal audio snapshot that contrasts nicely with the loud ‘n’ gritty “Ripe 4 Luv.” “Traumatic” rides a bubbling programmed groove, blending echo-laden vocals with understated rhythm guitar and a catchy synth hook into a magical new wave roots-pop amalgam. “It Could Be Me” is a classic major chord confection, hearkening back to that cusp-of-the-80s genius of Shoes, Dwight Twilley and Phil Seymour. As always the songs are stuffed with lovely harmonies and heart-stopping melodies, never losing site of power-pop’s roots in Buddy Holly, The Beatles and Big Star. Both songs are accompanied by videos created by long-time collaborator Tristan CM and represent the first of a series of Young Guv audio postcards that we plan on releasing over the upcoming months. Intentionally checking-out of the increasingly onerous album promotional cycle/circus, Guv is sticking with the single format and releasing new music when he is ready, not when it is deemed to be the correct time to “drop” an “asset.” Sounds good to us!

Current Release

Young Guv
Slumberland Records
Release Date: June 2, 2017
1. Traumatic
2. It Could Be Me
[media]<div style=”position:relative;height:0;padding-bottom:75.0%”><iframe src=”″ width=”480″ height=”360″ frameborder=”0″ style=”position:absolute;width:75%;height:75%;left:0″ allowfullscreen></iframe></div>[/media]

 Past Release


Young Guv
Ripe 4 Love
Slumberland Records
Release Date: March 10, 2015
1. Crushing Sensation
2. Ripe For Love
3. Crawling Back To You
4. Aquarian
5. Kelly, I’m Not A Creep
6. Dear Drew
7. Living The Dream
8. Wrong Crowd