Skip to main content

Tickley Feather signs to Paw Tracks, preps debut full-length

By February 5, 2008No Comments

Tickley Feather

Tickley Feather

MP3: “Tonight is the Nite” –
Video: “Sex Face” –

TICKLEY FEATHER, the self-titled debut by Philadelphia’s Annie Sachs, is a collection of late night path-finding sounds, gingerly home recorded using budget electronics. Selected from the past four years, these songs are washed in effects and demonstrate a barbaric yet meticulous instrumentation, along with a paradoxically, otherworldly and natural vocal style. The resulting sounds tell a secret that feels serendipitous. The album also features a special guest: her 4-year-old son Aiden It will see the light of day via the Animal Collective’s Paw Tracks label on April 29, 2008.

Annie Sachs grew up in rural Virginia but has been living in Philadelphia for 5 years now. She has been using her time learning to write and record her own music as part of her nights spent at home, adapting to being the single mother of a young child. Sachs is a four tracking hobbyist whose musical spirit dwells in the realm of her own natural inclinations. She is a firm believer in doing what feels right, and in her recordings she really uses her solo status to great advantage. It adds up a very personal sound which involves all sorts of sensations from serendipity to silliness, and even the sweet and eerie sound of her little boy’s voice as he tells her his ideas. Her recordings have been praised by critics from the start, with comparisons to work by artists such as Syd Barrett, Kate Bush, and Gilli Smith, and all the while being given credit for having a sound that is completely its own. Now she’s coming in from the outside to share her songs and it’s precious beyond value.

Tickley Feather – S/T track list:

1. “I’ve got magic inside my bones somewhere”
2. Ooooo
3. Buttshot
4. The Python
5. Fancy Walking
6. “There’s this magic spell right inside your bones”
7. Noisey Dingle
8. Nothing 2 B sad about
9. Le Daylight
10. 1978 fast/xylophone/leaking roof
11. Night Chant
12. Keyboards is Drunk
13. Sorry Party
14. Night Train
15. Rain Bucket
16. Tonight is the Nite
17. Lookout What’s Next
18. Convention
19. “The Bone hits it with a drumstick and then your skin has a switch”
20. “I’m Magic”/ Bathtime

Press materials at: