Skip to main content

Deer Tick celebrates CD release with shows in NYC and Providence this weekend

By November 8, 2008No Comments


MP3: Deertick – “Art Isn’t Real (City of Sin)”

Partisan Records will re-issue Deer Tick’s debut War Elephant on November 11, 2008. The re-issue will be released on both double limited edition vinyl and CD with new album artwork. Partisan Records will also be releasing a full-length album of early original Deer Tick songs at a later date. Deer Tick will be celebrating the release with a pair of shows this weekend, first in his hometown of Providence, RI on Nov. 7 at Jake’s and then on Nov. 8 in his adopted home of Brooklyn, NY at Southpaw, with Those Darlins and Luke Temple.

Songwriting prodigy John McCauley III wrote and recorded War Elephant at the age of 20, and plays every single instrument on the album. Originally a very limited release, the album received immense praise from top national critics like The New York Times and NPR, but quickly went out of print. The War Elephant re-issue will also represent the first ever vinyl release from Deer Tick.

Praise for Deer Tick:

“Deer Tick’s War Elephant ended up being one of my favorite addictions of 2007″ – Brooklyn Vegan

“The lone singer with a guitar will always be an icon of American folk music, but modern American folk is a diverse and rich genre that branches into rock, country and blues. Deer Tick understands this…” – NPR

“I got lucky and stumbled onto Deer Tick” – Jon Pareles, The New York Times

“There is plenty about Deer Tick’s debut album, War Elephant, to suggest that frontman John McCauley has seen more than his 21 birthdays.” – Pitchfork


Fri-Nov-07 Providence, RI Jake’s Bar and Grille
Sat-Nov-08 Brooklyn, NY Southpaw

Deer Tick
War Elephant
Street date: Nov. 11, 2008

01. Ashamed
02. Art Isn’t Real (City of Sin)
03. Standing At The Threshold
04. Dirty Dishes
05. Long Time
06. Nevada
07. Baltimore Blues No. 1
08. These Old Shoes
09. Not So Dense
10. Spend The Night
11. Diamond Rings 2007
12. Sink Or Swim
13. Christ Jesus
14. What Kind of Fool Am I?


Press Materials: