Skip to main content

Cassettes Won’t Listen premieres new video for “The Echoes” off latest album, EVINSPACEY- out now!

By August 3, 2011No Comments

Cassettes Won’t Listen recently released his highly anticipated full-length album, EVINSPACEY, via his artist collective, Daylight Curfew. Along the way he’s given us a free mixtape download (presented by This American Life’s Ira Glass —, a lead single download and video for “Perfect Day” ( and finally a second single off of the album, “The Echoes”. The video, directed by Vidoli of Black Wolf Creative, finds CWL running through the streets of New York while being chased by an ominous masked figure. Who is this concealed character and will CWL escape this dreamlike world where every corner reveals another obstacle? Stay tuned!

For those of you in Los Angeles, Cassettes Won’t Listen will be performing a FREE show tonight (8/1) at The Echo along with Active Child, Therapies Son, and Letting Up Despite Great Faults. 8:30/free/21+

EVINSPACEY is available now. Purchase on iTunes and receive 2 bonus tracks.


Cassettes Won’t Listen is the brainchild of Los Angeles-based, multi-instrumentalist and producer Jason Drake. A partner and previous director of marketing for famed indie hip-hop record label, Definitive Jux, Jason relocated from Brooklyn to Los Angeles in 2009 to record his latest solo record, EVINSPACEY. A follow up to his 2008 release, Small-Time Machine, CWL’s newest project is a synth/sample-driven record showcasing Jason’s contemplative and melodic vocals while experimenting with dark and otherworldly themes of travel, distance and despondency. Three years in the making, the title is a nod to his newly adopted hometown, his fascination with exploration, observations of broken hope within the city, and of course, those who sit on top.

Cassettes Won’t Listen was initially just a bedroom affair; in 2004, he picked up the microphone for the first time after years of producing instrumental hip hop and electronic inspired beats. The result…future fan favorite and eventual single, “Cutting Balloons”. He soon saw the mp3 appearing on influential blogs including Gorilla vs. Bear and Scissorkick. As this fan base grew, Jason served up the digital-only EP Nobody’s Moving in October of 2005. “Cutting Balloons” reached #1 on WOXY’s Top 20 charts after just weeks of being added to rotation.

In the wake of the release of Nobody’s Moving, a wide range of artists, commissioned countless Cassettes Won’t Listen remixes, including El-P, (featuring Trent Reznor), Midlake, Asobi Seksu, Dr. Octagon, Pela, Dirty on Purpose, Mr. Lif, and Morcheeba, amongst others.

Cassettes Won’t Listen followed up Nobody’s Moving with 2008’s Small-Time Machine and 2009’s instrumental album, Into The Hillside. Both have received much critic fanfare, including radio tastemakers WOXY, KEXP, KCRW and favorable featured press from SPIN, Stereogum, Wired, Billboard, Playboy, NY Press, MTV, and many others.

Throughout the three years of recording EVINSPACEY, CWL has continued to pursue his passion for remixing and producing work for other artists. This past year has seen remixes for The Death Set featuring Diplo, Gold Panda, Homeboy Sandman, and Houses, to name a few. His production has led to the formation of hip-hop group The Freeze Tag with Brooklyn-based MC Bisco Smith, experimental-downtempo band, Eka, and newly announced instrumental side project, Dfalt. He is also founder of NY/LA based artist collective, Daylight Curfew, showcasing solo hip-hop and electronic producers, indie bands, and visual artists nationwide. Plans for monthly Daylight Curfew events on both coasts as well as art gallery openings are in the works for the near future. Recently, CWL hosted MTV2’s Subterranean and premiered 3 videos on the network gaining him international traction and notoriety.

Look for Fall tour dates TBA soon!

Tour Dates

08/1 Los Angeles, CA The Echo *

* = w/ Active Child, Therapies Son, and Letting Up Despite Great Faults

Cassettes Won’t Listen :: EVINSPACEY
(Daylight Curfew) :: Street date: June 21, 2011

  1. Friendly Float
  2. Perfect Day
  3. The Echoes
  4. Kingdom
  5. The Night Shines
  6. Stuck
  7. Turn Back The Other Way
  8. Harp Darkness
  9. Wave To The Winners
  10. Pick Me Out
  11. Runtime
  12. Waiting

Links: Artist Site//Label