Skip to main content

Hear a previously unreleased song now

STREAM: Dead Gaze – “I Found The Ending”

“I Found The Ending” is a previously unreleased track taken from a self-titled compilation which pulls together highlights from Dead Gaze’s extensive back catalogue of tapes, 7″s and 10″s, now mostly out of print. Written by Cole Furlow, the man behind the Dead Gaze moniker, the track showcases his strong songwriting and unique sound, which joins ELO to Berlin Bowie through 90s shoegaze and slacker rock.

That off-kilter pop sensibility is a trait that has carried across a lot of the Cats Purring Collective; a northern Mississippi collective that also boasts the talents of Dent May, Bass Drum of Death and ILLLs, and which influenced the shaping of “I Found The Ending” as Cole explains;

“For me, ‘I Found The Ending’ is one of my favorite jams from this record. I recorded the whole song in Oxford at the Cats Purring Dude Ranch. My friend Len Clark played drums on it, and my old bassist Jim Henegan played on it as well. Writing the song was the first thing I did after moving into my new house. ‘I Found The Ending’ was initially about all my material possessions and how I was apathetic towards everything I owned, but it ended up being a way for me to show that I had given up on what I thought was important.”

Dead Gaze will be released on FatCat imprint Palmist as a vinyl LP and digital download in the UK on  March 25 and North America on May 21.

“I Found The Ending” is streaming over at FADER and available as a free download for fans that like the Dead Gaze Facebook page.

Tour Dates: 

02/06 – Oxford, MS – Lamar Lounge *
03/12 − 03/16 – Austin, TX – SXSW

* w/ US Girls

Dead Gaze
(FatCat / Palmist)
Street Date: May 21, 2013

Track List:

1. Remember What Brought Us Here
2. You’ll Carry On Real Nice
3. This Big World
4. Future Loves and Sing Abouts
5. Glory Days For Sure
6. Back and Forth
7. Take Me Home or I Die Alone
8. I Found the Ending
9. A Simple Man
10. There’s A Time To Be Stupid
11. Fishing With Robert
12. Fight Til It’s Dead


Facebook // Twitter // Press Materials // Label