Skip to main content
“Producer Dan Lissvik (Young GalaxyTaken By Trees) shows his deft hand here as frontman Philip Ekstrom’s voice strains to Robert Smith-esque levels of yearning, crashing again and again into the cresting chorus like the prow of a motorboat.”
– PITCHFORKToday Swedish indie-pop outfit the Mary Onettes share a new single, the title track from their upcoming Hit the Waves album. Listen to the song over at Pitchfork.

Vangelis, Confusion and Whitney Houston
The Mary Onettes went into the studio determined to create something different from the previous albums.  Breaking new ground can be a scary thing and the band admits that a great deal of anxiety and confusion followed. Singer Philip Ekström claims he found inspiration in everything from Vangelis to Whitney Houston(!) during the recording process.Struggle in the studio
Hit the Waves was produced by Dan Lissvik (Studio, The Embassy, Young Galaxy etc.). This is the first time The Mary Onettes works with an outside producer and the process has been everything but smooth. Conflicts and artistic differences have created a dynamic and hypnotic blend. The result is nothing less than brilliant –  The Mary Onettes’ most interesting album to date.

The band has released two previous albums – The Mary Onettes (2007) and Islands(2009), toured around the world and been featured in major TV-series.
Hit The Waves is out worldwide on March 12th 2013.


2/20 New York, NY Cake Shop (solo acoustic set)


The Mary Onettes
Hit The Waves
Street Date: March 12, 2013

1. Intro
2. Evil Coast
3. Hit the Waves
4. Years
5. Don’t Forget (to Forget about me)
6. Black Sunset
7. Blues
8. Can’t Stop the Aching
9. Unblessed
10. How it all Ends