Skip to main content

Swedish phenomenon Club 8 is an unpredictable duo hailing from a small village in the south of Sweden. They had their first live performance in NYC, have toured everywhere from Tokyo to São Paolo and managed to build a strong and dedicated fan base all over the world.

After 18 months of recording and another 6 months arguing about the track order, song titles and album title – Club 8 have finished their 8th album Above the City.

Previous album The People’s Record (2010) was produced by Jari Haapalainen but Johan Angergård is now back in the producer chair.

The album was produced in the thirteen year old program Cubase VST 5.0. “With less advanced technology at hand you need to create your sounds in a more ‘hands on, inartificial kind of way,” says producer Johan Angergård.

On Above the City Club 8 has, among other things, worked with Russian field recordings, children’s choirs, samples from erotic movies and construction sites, used odd building material as drums and recorded in various sites such as basements and staircases to get the right reverb.

Listen/Share Teaser of New Single  ‘Stop Taking My Time’ via Soundcloud.


Club 8
Above the City
(Labrador Records)
Release Date: May 21, 2013

1. Kill Kill Kill
2. Stop Taking My Time
3. You Could Be Anybody
4. Run
5. Interlude
6. Hot Sun
7. A Small Piece Of Heaven
8. I’m Not Gonna Grow Old
9. Interlude #2
10. Into Air
11. Instrumental
12. Travel
13. Less Than Love
14. Straight As An Arrow