Skip to main content

Dead Gaze out May 21 on FatCat / Palmist

ALBUM STREAM: Dead Gaze – s/t – 

After releasing a slew of cassettes and 7″ records on notable DIY labels like Group Tightener, Fire Talk, and Clan Destine, and receiving critical acclaim on sites such as Altered Zones, The Fader, and Weekly Tape Deck, Dead Gaze, the nom de plume of Mississippi’s R. Cole Furlow, finally delivers his debut self-titled LP, released through Palmist Records on May 21.

The album brings together highlights from the extensive Dead Gaze back catalogue, now mostly out of print, with new unheard material. Coming from the hills of North Mississippi and the Cats Purring Collective (featuring prolific artists like Dent May, Bass Drum of Death and Flight), Furlow has been releasing material under the guise of Dead Gaze since 2009, recently morphing into a five piece live band, though the album was mostly written, played, and recorded by Furlow. Combining effortless pop songs with recordings that put an emphasis on texture, Dead Gaze has delivered a densely layered and engaging record.


June 15 – Chicago IL – Schubas Tavern *
June 16 – Minneapolis MN – 7th Street Entry *
June 26 – Iowa City, IA – The Mill *
August 2 – Birmingham, AL – Secret Stages Festival

* w/ Dent May

Dead Gaze
(FatCat / Palmist)
Street Date: May 21, 2013

Track List:

1. Remember What Brought Us Here
2. You’ll Carry On Real Nice
3. This Big World
4. Future Loves and Sing Abouts
5. Glory Days For Sure
6. Back and Forth
7. Take Me Home or I Die Alone
8. I Found the Ending
9. A Simple Man
10. There’s A Time To Be Stupid
11. Fishing With Robert
12. Fight Til It’s Dead