Skip to main content

Free Time to be released by Underwater Peoples on May 28 

ALBUM STREAM: Free Time – s/t –

VIDEO: Free Time – “I Lost Again” (Dir. by Charles Poekel & Maia Stern) – 


Free Time – I Lost Again from Chocolate Bobka on Vimeo.


Free Time formed in the summer of 2012 around Melbourne luminary songwriter Dion Nania (Panel of Judges). After moving to New York in 2011, Nania kicked around for a while, played some lead guitar with fellow Melbourne transplants, Scott and Charlene’s Wedding, then helped out the Twerps, playing bass on a national tour.

Shortly thereafter, he began writing new songs with the intent of putting a new band together, eventually enlisting the support of Adrienne Humblet on bass, Jonah Maurer on guitar, and Michael Mimoun on drums. Filling out Nania’s jangly, sometimes heartbreaking pop, the band quickly recorded most of their first LP the day before Dion flew home to mix it. He returned with fragments for new songs and the band finished the record in December 2012.

Nania’s songs tell stories of following love across the world, of being unsure about the future and of his place in it. Like the trans-Pacific ping pong of the last two years of his life, his songs veer between sweet sadness and wild exuberance. Free Time’s eponymous debut is due for release digitally on May 28 and on vinyl June 11. They will be embarking on their first North American this June.


05/24 Melbourne, Aus – The Tote ^
06/09 Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
06/10 Pittsburgh, PA – Garfield Artworks
06/11 Detroit, MI – Garden Bowl *
06/12 Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
06/13 Cincinnati, OH – The Comet
06/14 Nashville, TN – The Basement
06/15 Oxford, MS – Lamar Lounge
06/16 Atlanta, GA – The Earl
06/17 Charleston, SC – The Royal American
06/18 Columbia, SC – Conundrum
06/20 Raleigh, NC – King’s Barcade +
06/21 Richmond, VA – Strange Matter
06/22 Washington, DC – Red Onion (Day show)
06/22 Baltimore, MD – Golden West
06/23 Brooklyn, NY – Shea Stadium

^ = w/ Miss Destiny, Bitch Prefect
* = w/ Ketamines
+ = w/ Owen

Free Time
(Underwater Peoples)
Street Date: May 28, 2013

Track List:

1. I Lost Again
2. It’s Alright
3. It Doesn’t Stop
4. Natures Cup
5. Unified Europe
6. Here And There
7. Just One
8. World Without Love
9. Nothin But Nice


Facebook/Twitter/Press Materials/Label