Skip to main content

 A Constant Sea out June 18 on Manimal / Frenchkiss Label Group

 STREAM: Heliotropes – “Quatto” (formerly “Joy Unfolds”) – 


Heliotropes recently released the song “Psalms” from their forthcoming debut album, A Constant Sea. Now, you can hear a new song, “Quatto,” over at Noisey. The song “Quatto” was previously titled “Joy Unfolds,” but the band chose to change the name in homage to one of their favorite films, Total Recall.

In regards to the name change, they said, “basically, most of the songs on this album had working titles that were the names of various monsters…Frankenstein, Dracula, Sasquatch etc. We started running out of monsters so we had to get more contemporary. We happened to be watching Total Recall right before we recorded this song, and that’s where “Quatto” came from. When we ditched the working titles for proper song names, that one just stuck.”

About Heliotropes:

Heliotropes is the musical vehicle of four Brooklyn women that hail from places as wildly divergent as West Virginia, New Jersey, and California. The band formed in 2009 when vocalists Jessica Numsuwankijkul and Amber Myers posted an ad on Craigslist, seeking like-minded Brooklyn musicians to play Brian Eno covers with, and ultimately turned into a much heavier rock band, with “impressive range, shifting easily from vintage-girl group harmonies to rugged stoner rock powered by chugging riff-heavy guitars and banshee vocals,” [Rolling Stone].

In 2011, Heliotropes realized the release of their first 7″, “Ribbons”, followed by the digital releases of “Moonlite” and “The Dove,” offering heavy psych numbers steeped in dark magic and new-romantic leanings with a formidable lyrical presence.

The following year, Heliotropes signed to LA’s Manimal Vinyl (Bat For Lashes, Warpaint, Sister Crayon), and began work on their debut album, A Constant Sea.

So far in 2013, Heliotropes have recorded at Converse Rubber Tracks studio in Brooklyn, been featured prominently at SXSW as an official Red Bull Sound Select artist, and embarked on their first national tour of the United States with Esben and the Witch. The current lineup consists of Jessica Numsuwankijkul on lead guitar and vocals, Amber Myers on vocals and percussion, Cici Harrison on drums, and Nya Abudu on bass. A Constant Sea comes out on June 18th through Manimal Vinyl.


June 18 – Brooklyn, NY – Glasslands (Album Release Party)
June 22 – Dover, DE – FireFly Fest
June 29 – South Street Seaport, NY – 4Knots Music Festival *

* w/ The Babies, Kurt Vile, The Men, Marnie Stern, Parquet Courts

A Constant Sea
Manimal / Frenchkiss Label Group
Street Date: June 18, 2013

Track List:

1. Early In The Morning
2. Psalms
3. Everyone Else
4. Moonlite
5. Good and Evil
6. Ribbons
7. Quatto
8. The Dove
9. I Walk Upon The Water
10. Unadorned
11. Awake
12. Christine

Twitter/Facebook/Press Materials