Skip to main content

A Constant Sea out now on Manimal / Frenchkiss Label Group

VIDEO: Heliotropes –“Everyone Else” –  

[media][/media] Heliotropes is the musical vehicle of four Brooklynites that hail from places as wildly divergent as West Virginia, New Jersey, and California. The band formed in 2009 when vocalists Jessica Numsuwankijkul and Amber Myers posted an ad on Craigslist, seeking like-minded Brooklyn musicians to play Brian Eno covers with, and ultimately turned into a much heavier rock band, with “impressive range, shifting easily from vintage-girl group harmonies to rugged stoner rock powered by chugging riff-heavy guitars and banshee vocals,” [Rolling Stone]. The current lineup consists of Jessica Numsuwankijkul on lead guitar and vocals, Amber Myers on vocals and percussion, Cici Harrison on drums, and Nya Abudu on bass.

Heliotropes released their debut album, A Constant Sea, on June 18th through Manimal Vinyl and Frenchkiss Label Group.

“Jessica Numsuwankijkul projects eerie calm as fuzzed-out guitars and brutal drums build to a thrilling peak.”  – Mother Jones

“Heliotropes show a surprisingly mature and focused control of their formula on A Constant Sea, luring you in only to eat you alive.” – Consequence of Sound

“The psych-rock collective’s first full-length is 12 tracks of stoner rock madness – all fuzz freakouts, bluesy droning, and existential introspection.” – SPIN

“…a strongly inventive debut.” – AllMusic


9/6 – Boston – TT The Bears
9/14 – Brooklyn – Glasslands
9/17 – Philly – Venue TBA
9/21 – Brooklyn – BAM Café
10/10 – San Francisco – The Knockout
10/11 – Fresno – Fulton 55
10/12 – LA – The Echo (Culture Collide Festival)

A Constant Sea
Manimal / Frenchkiss Label Group
Street Date: June 18, 2013

Track List:

Early In The Morning
Everyone Else
Good and Evil
The Dove
I Walk Upon The Water

Twitter / Facebook / Press Materials