Skip to main content

VIDEO: “Living For The Future” –   

Vex Ruffin has an album coming out on November 12. Here’s the first video: “Living for the Future.”  It was directed by Anonymous.


Vex Ruffin makes hypnotic and minimal electro-punk music that summons the spirit of early proto-punk pioneers like Suicide, combined with the electro disco of label mate James Pants. Merging brooding synthesizers and added fuzzed out guitar riffs over his rhythmic tracks, Vex Ruffin’s self-titled debut full-length confirms he’s an uncomplicated guy with an unabashed adoration for minimal sonic textures.Vex takes new wave, 60s psychedelia, primitive electronic and gnarly rock and roll, chopping and changing genres, breaking all the rules of conventional songwriting. A prolific musician, Vex churns out tracks simple in construction, but dense with attitude.

Who is Vex Ruffin:

He’s a Filipino-American solo artist who is from Chino Hills, a suburb that borders 3 colossal Southern Californian counties. His hometown is a bizarre fusion of suburban monotony intertwined with a widely dissimilar hodgepodge of communities. This communal paradox is reflected in his music as he straddles a range of genres but never fully pledges himself to just one musical identity.


09/28 Los Angeles, CA Silverlake Lounge

Vex Ruffin
Vex Ruffin
(Stones Throw)
Street Date: Nov. 12, 2013

Track List:

1.  Living for the Future
2.  Prime of my Life
3.  It Will Come
4.  Warm Life
5.  Hard on Myself
6.  Be the Man
7.  Need More Followers
8.  Down in the Basement
9.  Won Day
10.  This Time
11.  Forget It
12.  Ruined