Skip to main content
Sophomore solo album also due on Slumberland later in 2014 
STREAM: “Change My Ways” – SoundCloud / Noisey  


Constantly juggling hardcore and pop projects, veteran Bay Area  musician Tony Molina has won over fans in both camps. Since 2002, Molina  has played in several bands including Dystrophy, Ovens, Lifetime  Problems, Caged Animal, Violent Change and his current solo work. In all  of this projects, Molina values lyrical simplicity, structural  concision, and the emotional impact of gnarly guitar riffs.
Most recently he released the Six Tracks EP through Matador  Records’ Singles Going Home Alone series. Featuring five brief power-pop  originals on the A-side and a stellar cover of Metallica’s “Orion” on  the flip, it contains a bona-fide pop hit in “Breakin’ Up,” a tuff tune  that recalls the best of Dinosaur Jr and Teenage Fanclub and sounds for  all the world like a great lost 70s radio hit. Pure magic.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               .                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              .
Two other recent releases – the wistful riff rock of his first solo  album, Dissed and Dismissed, and his hardcore band Caged Animal’s  barbaric debut EP – illustrate the striking dichotomy that has run  throughout Molina’s discography over the last eleven years. On Dissed  and Dismissed, Molina intensifies the slacker clichés and  self-deprecation of 90s indie rock into absurdist hyperbole. He  expresses vulnerability and melodrama through bizarre truisms while  referencing his forebears: Thin Lizzy leads, Radiohead lyrics,  Replacements sneer. Molina appropriates unapologetically (openly paying tribute to Guided By Voices with a sterling cover of their “Wandering Boy Poet”), but distills the past into bursts of reverence less than a minute long.
Dissed and Dismissed was released earlier this year on San  Francisco’s Melters label. The album struck a chord with savvy  listeners, gathered some great reviews and rapidly sold-out of its  initial pressing. Slumberland Records is proud to bring you a reissue of  this fine album on March 25, 2014 on red vinyl LP, cassette and as a  digital download. Dig its indelible tunes and shredding leads while we  wait for the new Tony Molina full-length, to be released on Slumberland  later in 2014.



01/03 Oakland, CA The Uptown *

* = w/ Cold Beat


Tony Molina
Dissed and Dismissed
Street Date: March 25, 2014

Formats: LP / Digital / Cassette

1. Nowhere To Go
2. Change My Ways
3. Can’t Believe
4. Tear Me Down
5. Nothing I Can Do
6. Sick Ass Riff
7. See Me Through
8. Don’t Come Back
9. Spoke Too Soon
10. The Way Things Are
11. Wandering Boy Poet

12. Walk Away