Skip to main content

Catch them live next Weds. 3/12 at our official SXSW Showcase at Maggie Mae’s

VIDEO: “Erosion” (Dir. by Matthew Reed) –DAZED 

[media]<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”//” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen></iframe>[/media]

 “Get off your head with the London four-piece’s wavy new video, feat. CGI cats and cupcakes” -Dazed Digital

London four-piece CYMBALS have shared a new video for “Erosion.” According to Tough Love Records boss Stephen Pietrzykowski the video is a playful critique of “the Buzzfeed/clickbait/endless-rivers-of-meaningless-shit aesthetic that’s come to dominate how a majority of people engage with the internet, and the way this was subsequently seeping into the production of art.”The video is a hyperreal, absurd presentation of Pietrzykowski’s frustrations. Yet, he explains that “It was first Matthew Reed, the director, who suggested the notion of satirizing ‘internet culture’, and then the band through their performance, who took that germ of an idea and made it into a work of art where all that is solid melts into air.”

“I wanted to put all of these elements Stephen and I had spoken about, together into a kind of virtual museum or gallery”, says Reed. “I wanted to create a collection of imagined future relics. Then the video plays out almost like an archaeologist sifting through a horde of Buzzfeed-era trash, while it just melts into a kind of HD sludge in his hands.”

“Erosion” is one of the standout cuts from CYMBALS’ new album The Age Of Fracture(out now on Tough Love Records). CYMBALS play SXSW for the first time next week and have a handful of UK dates in May and June, including a show at London’s Corsica Studios on 4th June.


12th March – Austin, TX – SXSW – Force Field PR Showcase @ Maggie Maes  – 12am
13th March – Austin, TX – SXSW – Howl @ Cheer Up Charlies  – 1:15 am
2nd May – Hare and Hounds, Birmingham
3rd May – Live At Leeds, Leeds
4th May – Canterbury City Sound Project, Canterbury
4th June – Corsica Studios, London –

The Age of Fracture
(Tough Love Records)
Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
1. Winter ’98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me