Skip to main content

‘Glossy Recall’ out October 7 via OFF TEMPO (pre-order)


STREAM: “Hold This Moment”

SoundCloud / BULLETT Magazine

Photo by Hungry Cloud Darkening


Washington trio Hungry Cloud Darkening are set to release their sophomore album‘Glossy Recall’ on October 7th via Pacific Northwest music label Off Tempo (pre-order here). The band has recently toured with and served as the backing band for Mount Eerie.

Today they share a brand new track, the atmospheric “Hold This Moment.” Allyson Foster delineates the track’s inspiration over at BULLETT Magazine.

Hungry Cloud Darkening is the collaborative all-analog recording project of Nicholas Wilbur, Allyson Foster, and Paul Benson. Each song is co-written in a slightly different way- all with priorities in variety and spectrum and fidelity. The three grew up in Mountain Home, Arkansas and Nixa, Missouri but have resided and operated in Anacortes, Washington for the past 6 years collectively. The project inhabits recording/event space the Anacortes Unknown, where Nich is the head engineer.

‘Glossy Recall’ is a perfect showroom of unique and familiar spectrally disparate organic sounds. We are granted ample space to stand and observe the vintage-innovative use of fundamental flowers guitar and keyboard and voice and bear witness to extinct monolithic bass melodies as they once existed: clear and 3D and uncompromised by medium. The combination of the honed life-like nature of the engineering and the sparse playful behavior of the music will warrant and reward indefinite loud listens for both audiophiles and lyrics-learners alike. Allyson’s cosmic breathy words are projected into a boundless space of idle moments, decaying relationships, remembering, and misremembering, painting a picture of a rainy window view with an implied meditation on it’s blip nature among seasons lapsed and forthcoming. Though the record is foremost an irreverent attempt to create a new color, Glossy Recall seems to call forth feelings from listenership phases rich and deep in Roy Orbison, Yo La Tengo, Secret Square, and This Mortal Coil.


Hungry Cloud Darkening
Glossy Recall
Street Date: October 7, 2014


1. Clearly Seen
2. I Am Seen
3. Hold This Moment
4. You Look Around
5. Time To
6. Talk About Something
7. Fading Comfort
8. Blue Green
9. Hidden And No Trace
10. Inhibited Window



HUNGRY CLOUD DARKENING LINKS:  Official / Facebook / Label
force field pr

Anton Hochheim


PO Box 42125
Los Angeles, CA 90042


310-926-7361 (c)


Current Roster:
Dan Deacon * Panda Bear * Yuck * Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti * I Break Horses
Teengirl Fantasy * Easy Sound * Woods * Youth Lagoon * Woodkid * Owls
Dent May * Melody’s Echo Chamber * White Fence * Jonathan Rado (of Foxygen)
Mount Eerie / The Microphones * Yellow Ostrich * Leyland Kirby * Tobacco
Gacha * Airhead * Cloud Boat * Lone * Neon Indian / VEGA * Vanaprasta
The Blow * Vondelpark * Datassette * Generationals * Kisses * Yip Deceiver
Brandt Brauer Frick * Vivian Girls * Woodsist * Slumberland * Frog Eyes
Lightning Bolt * Anamanaguchi * Tony Molina * School of Language * Weeknight
Lanterns on the Lake * White Arrows * Terry Malts * Nedelle Torrisi * The Donkeys
Kevin Morby * Boogarins * La Sera * Papercuts * Vetiver * Howlin Rain * SoftSpot
Diane Coffee * Beat Culture * Cate Le Bon * Girls Names * Isobel Campbell
Elephant * Wax Idols * ILLLS * Lonnie Holley * Alex Smoke * Tessela * Makoto
Joanna Gruesome * The Babies * Barbarossa * PAWS * Muscle Shoals (film)
Pattern Is Movement * Good Ol’ Freda (film) * Kasket * EDJ (of Fruit Bats)
Bart Davenport * Alex Bleeker & the Freaks * Bottomless Pit * DoomSquad
Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me (film) * Withered Hand * Jessica Pratt * Andy Cato
Dallas Clayton (Author) * Silkworm – Libertine deluxe reissue * Hot Sugar * Tree
Painted Palms * Sonny and the Sunsets * Dead Gaze * Young Galaxy * Boozoo Bajou
R&S / Apollo Records * Celestial Shore * Odonis Odonis * The Mantles * CYMBALS
Jackson Scott * Rodrigo Amarante (of Little Joy) * Lemuria * Hooded Fang  * Be Forest
Syl Johnson: Any Way The Wind Blows (film) * Heliotropes * El Ten Eleven * De Lux
Vaadat Charigim * Guerilla Toss * Melted Toys * Leyland Kirby * Lakker * September Girls