Skip to main content
Reality Testing out now on R&S Records
STREAM: Lone – “Restless City” (Head High remix) –
Photo by Mary Stamm-Clarke 


Lone’s recent album Reality Testing has proven to be the most successful of his career and will no doubt see itself on a bunch of best of the year lists. From Reality Testing, “Restless City” has stood out as a favorite for DJs.

“Restless City” showcases the album’s hip-hop and house influences with a track that really swings with classic house beats, yet retains an old school hip-hop feel.

On remix duties is Head High (aka Shed). His Megabox double pack has been one of our favorite releases of the year and  he as delivered a wicked remix. He has stripped “Restless City” right back and aimed it purely at the dancefloor. Recalling some of the classic jackin’ Chicago house from the 90s released on labels like Relief.

Just back from his first tour of the US, Lone is now taking his live A/V show around Europe, Asia and Australia.

Restless City / Restless City (Head High Remix)
R&S Records




“10/10…Really there’s no one else doing it quite like Matt Cutler at the minute.” – DJ Mag 

“His amalgams of house, rave, techno and hip-hop are rich with detail, and he slams them home with melodies that glow in the dark, as if he’s soundtracking films shot with color palettes our eyes can’t process yet.” – Pitchfork

“It’s almost inhumanly perfect…it shows him settling into a state of deep contentment, evoking the same warm and fuzzy feeling you get from throwing on a record that you know inside and out.” – Resident Advisor

“But there’s no question that this is one of our best artists on the form of his life.” – Mixmag




Reality Testing
R&S Records
June 17, 2014
LP / CD / Digital 

Track List:

1. First Born Seconds
2. Restless City
3. Meeker Warm Energy
4. Aurora Northern Quarter
5. 2 is 8
6. Airglow Fires
7. Coincidences
8. Begin To Begin
9. Jaded
10. Vengeance Video
11. Stuck
12. Cutched Under