Skip to main content
Dutch Uncles share new track “Decided Knowledge” from forthcoming album ‘Shudder’ due February 24

STREAM: “Decided Knowledge”

SoundCloud / Consequence of Sound



Photo by Adrian Lambert

Today Manchester five piece Dutch Uncles share “Decided Knowledge,” taken from their forthcoming album ‘O Shudder,’ due out February 24 via Memphis Industries. Stream the track over at Consequence of Sound.


“The lyrics came as a reaction to failing very miserably at a job interview,” explains lead vocalist Duncan Wallis. “It was a council job at a local arts centre. I thought personal experience would account for something, but it really didn’t.”


“So the melodramatic tone of the words reflect a) how very assuming I was; and, b) how very unsuitable for the job I was in the first place.”

The bands forthcoming album ‘O Shudder’ was recorded in Wales and Salford with long term collaborator Brendan Williams and features a cameo from Liverpool three piece Stealing Sheep. Without loosing any of their esoteric tendencies, ‘O Shudder’ is easily Dutch Uncles‘ most accessible album yet, with the band finally having alchemised their idiosyncrasies into art-pop perfection.  Lead singer Duncan Wallis describes the themes of the record as being “more personal and direct than before with reflections on pregnancy, terrorism, school discos, divorce, health scares, sexual dysfunction and job-seeking.”


Dutch Uncles

O Shudder

[Memphis Industries]

Release Date: February 24, 2015 

1. Babymaking

2. Upsilon

3. Drips

4. Decided Knowledge

5. I Should Have Read

6. In n Out

7. Given Thing

8. Don’t Sit Back (Frankie Said)

9. Accelerate

10. Tidal Weight

11. Be Right Back