Skip to main content

Still Life out now on Woodsist Records

VIDEO: – Kevin Morby – “Parade” (Dir. by Elise Tyler)


Still from “Parade” video  

Watch Kevin Morby explore NYC in his new video for “Parade” over at Stereogum. Director Elise Tyler explains the video saying, “the process was a complete collaboration with Kevin. He wanted to document the people and places that make up his New York, and I had the honor to capture it for him. I wanted to feature the quieter places and moments that can sometimes get lost in the noise of the city, which I think also reflects Kevin’s nature as an artist and individual.”

Along with the video comes the news of Kevin signing to Dead Oceans. He’s at work on his Dead Oceans full length debut, due in 2016

 About Still Life:  

Still Life is the second solo album from Kevin Morby. The namesake of the record is an art piece by Maynard Monrow entitled “Still Life with the Rejects from the Land of Misfit Toys.”

The album’s title has several meanings. On the surface, it refers to Morby’s change in lifestyle from moving to Los Angeles from New York in August of 2013.

But he also admits that the title is ironic. The songs from Still Life were written during yet another period of tour and travel for Morby, as he spent most all of 2013 on the road with Woods (whom Morby parted ways with amicably last year), The Babies, who are currently on hiatus and as a solo artist.

The album reflects both this time in transit and the quiet confines of his new home in Montecito Heights. Scenes of performers, audience expectations and the paradoxical confines of a roving individual perpetually caught in a crowd percolate the songs, notably in “The Jester, The Tramp, The Acrobat,” and “Parade.” (Morby calls the latter an elegy of sorts for one of his major influences, Lou Reed). Violent fates, wrestling with destiny and the nature of death creep into songs like “The Ballad of Arlo Jones,” “Bloodsucker” and “Amen”. Even Morby’s more obvious love songs like “All of My Life,” “Drowning”  and “Our Moon” are highly bittersweet; the characters in these songs seem to never quite find each other, but perhaps they find themselves.

As with Harlem River, Still Life is once again produced by Rob Barbato (Cass McCombs, Darker My Love) who adds his signature guitar and bass playing to the album. The album was engineered and mixed by Drew Fischer, who also worked on Harlem River and the Babies second full length album Our House on the Hill and recorded between March and June of 2014 at Barbato and Fischers new Burbank Recording Studio, Comp’ny.

Multi-instrumentalist Will Canzoneri (Cate Le Bon, Cass McCombs, Jessica Pratt), who also performed live with Morby on previous tours and who was a contributor on Harlem River, contributes piano and organ to the album. The album also features a prominent horn section on “Parade” and “Amen”.

While Morby called his solo debut Harlem River a love letter to New York City, the city hasn’t faded as a muse (readily evident in the eerie twisting journey of “Dancer”). This makes sense. Morby says he always interpreted the “land of misfit toys” in the album’s namesake piece to be that of New York.

“Morby’s a judicious lyricist, able to flesh out a scene with just a few carefully-chosen details…catch him in just the right mood, and he’s got stories to share, hard-earned wisdom to impart.” – Pitchfork

“Have a listen to Still Life, which shows the pure talent you already knew Morby possessed, but channeled in a raw and real form; the sincerity of this album will have you coming back to it again and again.” – NME 

Tour Dates:

7/29 – San Francisco, CA – Swedish American Hall
7/31-8/2 – Happy Valley, OR – Pickathon
8/22 – Los Angeles, CA – FYF
9/6 – Dorset, UK – End Of The Road Festival
9/14 – Tilburg, NL – Incubate
* w/ Weyes Blood

Kevin Morby
Still Life
(Woodsist Records)
Street Date: Oct. 14, 2014
Formats: CD / LP / Digital
iTunes / CD & Vinyl

1) The Jester, The Tramp & the Acrobat
2) The Ballad of Arlo Jones
3) Motors Running
4) All Of My Life
5) Drowning
6) Bloodsucker
7) Parade
8) Dancer
9) Amen
10) Our Moon