Skip to main content

ALBUM STREAM: ‘High Tides’

SoundCloud / SPIN


From the coastal shores of the mind, by way of the Midwest, comes High Tides, the hazy synth duo of Warren Kroll (Forrest, Dorosoto) and Steven Lutes (Mall Security, Kontyx). Launched in 2011 as an offshoot of their sleazy, acid-electro collaboration as The Red Falcon Projects, High Tides was born out of daydreams of the lavish shores of Southern California, sun-faded memories of yacht rock and a desire to craft their own signature spin on the genres perfected by the likes of Boards Of Canada, Freescha and others.

Amongst their earliest advocates was TOBACCO of Black Moth Super Rainbow, who encouraged the duo to further develop their sound. He commissioned multiple, well received remixes from the pair, as they continued to write original material.

High Tides are set to release their forthcoming debut self-titled album via TOBACCO’s own label Rad Cult, due July 31. The album features six original songs alongside four reimagined versions of TOBACCO/Black Moth Super Rainbow tracks. Stream the album in its entirety a week early over at SPIN and on SoundCloud.

Settle back, grab some Malibu rum and watch the sun retire over the ocean horizon, as the blissed-out tunes of High Tides carry you away into an endless summer.


High Tides

High Tides
[Rad Cult]

Release Date: July 31, 2015

 1. 7 Miles Beach
2. Blurring My Day (High Tides Version)
3. Sunware
4. Psychic Love Damage (High Tides Version)
5. The Beach Elder
6. Coastal Cruise ’86
7. Face Breakout (High Tides Version)
8. Ripped Tide
9. Eruption (High Tides Version)
10. The Sunset Tanz