Skip to main content

‘Leaper’ out November 13 via Hand Drawn Dracula

STREAM: “1992”
YouTube / Noisey


Photo Credit: James Mejia – (Click Image for High Res)

Toronto shoegaze band Beliefs are set to announce their sophomore album ‘Leaper’on November 13 via Hand Drawn Dracula. This week the band shares the first single from the release, “1992.” Stream the video over at Noisey and on YouTube.

Beliefs started abruptly when Josh Korody and Jesse Crowe met at good friend and former Bassist, Patrick McCormack’s birthday party and couldn’t stop talking about the music of the 90’s. Through the love of My Bloody Valentine and Sonic Youth, the memory of reverb and fuzz was revisited and Beliefs was formed.

“Using their seminal influences as a catalyst rather than template, their self-titled debut album is a frighteningly assured and expansive effort, recalls last decade’s High Water Marks, Women or Deerhunter” ~ ROUGHT TRADE (UK)

Since their formation in 2010, Beliefs have released a two song single and b-side (Untitled, 2012 HDD) as well as a full length record (self titled, 2013 HDD, Manimal, No Pain In Pop) and are currently set to release their follow up, Leaper via HDD on November 13. Beliefs have been lucky enough to share the stage with fantastic artists such as; A Place to Bury Strangers, Disappears, The Breeders, Toy, Algiers, Moon Duo, Beach Fossils, Suuns, and Fucked Up.

Beliefs are prolific artists and musicians in the Toronto music scene, with Crowe recording in projects PRAISES and ROLEMODEL, and Korody as a founding member of WISH and NAILBITER as well as producing countless projects at his Candle Recordings studio. Beliefs are now set to present Leaper at shows and to festivals such as Supercrawl, POP Montreal, and New York’s CMJ along side the Hand Drawn Dracula family.

“Prepare to get hooked on the glistening new album from fuzzy dream-pop band, Beliefs” ~ DAZED

Tour Dates:

10/08 Toronto, Ontario – The Horseshoe *
10/14 Brooklyn, NY – Palisades (HDD / Bella Union / CMJ Festival)
10/15 Brooklyn, NY – Alphaville (CMJ Festival)

* = w/ Algiers


[Hand Drawn Dracula] Release Date: November 13, 2015

Pre-order vinyl

1. Tidal Wave
2. 1992
3. Colour Of Your Name
4. Drown
5. Leaper
6. Ghosts
7. Morning Light
8. Go Ahead And Sleep
9. Leave With You
10. Swooner