Skip to main content

STREAM: “Golden Threads From The Sun” –
DIY / SoundCloud


Today, yndi halda have premiered an excerpt from their highly anticipated second album Under Summer. The excerpt comes from the track ‘Golden Threads From The Sun’ and was premiered by DIY, who said:

“‘Golden Threads From The Sun’ is a fluid, rolling piece which is carried along before crashing into life at its mid-way point, as the band have always done best. As the track tails off into the rest of its fifteen minute running time, a lot is still left to be revealed about Under Summer, but this first preview shows no change in ambition after eight years away: they’re still shooting for the stars.”

The new album is due out on the March 4, 2016 via Big Scary Monsters in the UK/EU and Burnt Toast Vinyl in the US, and follows the critically acclaimed Enjoy Eternal Bliss, which was released in 2007.

Eight-years on from Enjoy Eternal Bliss Brighton based quintet yndi halda are now preparing to release their new album, Under Summer. Having toured across the UK, Europe, USA and Asia, including shows at London’s famed Barbican Hall, Koko and Union Chapel venues, and entirely selling out a short residency at Hoxton Hall; yndi halda’s fervent and nominally patient fan base have been eagerly awaiting this new material. For those who were previously enthralled by the band’s
revered string-heavy and densely layered flavor of instrumental rock, there are seemingly endless new aural delectations to unearth and embrace in the band’s intense second effort.

Their music is at once subtle and joyous, hitting huge emotional peaks around moments of serene gentleness and heart-breaking sadness in its orchestration of sonorous guitar interlacing, meticulously crafted string arrangements and – now – soaring vocal harmonies.

Tracks such as ‘This Very Flight’ perfectly exemplify how dexterous and explorative the band have become, with the first half of the song revisiting the already cherished sounds of Enjoy Eternal Bliss, whilst the second half presents the ‘new yndi halda’, sonically more mature yet still unafraid to experiment with new emotions and sounds. Other tracks on the album such as ‘Golden Threads From The Sun’ solidify this new temperament making prominent use of vocals, and a lighter timbre than before. The sonic boundaries of Under Summer are only limited by the bands collective imagination, and which sentiments they allow to permeate that individual creative talent. There may have been eight years of musical silence between the two albums, but this has allowed the band members individual life and subsequent cultural experiences to redefine the way the band can collectively compose and express themselves.

Speaking about writing the new album, James Vella (guitar, vocals) said “We called the album Under Summer. It is two references. For us at least. Inevitably it will mean something different to everyone who hears the album. But for us it is the very upper limit of the sky under which we wrote and recorded the album. The endless July days that we played into, a perfect calm and joy. But it’s also a sadness. ‘Under’ as in ‘beneath’; sorrow and heartache. We found that important because we want to express that in our music too. Sadness and bliss. What one means to the other.”

Under Summer is captivatingly personal, with both beauty and disconsolate longing entwined throughout every profoundly textured movement. This is something that means far more to yndi halda than written words in a press release, but something that is present and perceptible in the album.

Previous praise for yndi halda:

“…they’ve mastered the sound.” – Pitchfork

“yndi halda go to town with the whole thing, playing with a passion that makes most post-rockers look as dynamic as a breezeblock.” – The Line Of Best Fit

“Britain’s finest on-album purveyors of modern instrumental rock music.” – Drowned in Sound


yndi halda
Under Summer
(Burnt Toast Vinyl / Big Scary Monsters)
Pre-order here
Street Date: March 4, 2016

Track List:

1. Together Those Leaves
2. Golden Threads From The Sun
3. Helena
4. This Very Flight