Skip to main content

Shaprece announces debut album, COALS & shares first single “Two” via Above Average Hip Hop

STREAM: “Two” –
/ Above Average Hip Hop


Photo by Daniel Volland

Spinning a web of downtempo beats, ethereal orchestration, and a powerfully pure vocal style, Shaprece – flanked by producer IG88 and orchestral arranger Phillip Peterson – has become a recognized name in the recent scene of forward-thinking R&B. She has garnered early support and mentions from KEXP, SPIN, The New York Times, Revolt TV, City Arts Magazine, and many more. Her upcoming debut full length album COALS is set to solidify her as one of the most engaging artists of her genre.

Shaprece’s introduction to the world was the 2014 releases of the ‘Tell Me // Her Song’ split single, and her critically acclaimed ‘Molting’ EP, which spotlighted her wide range of influences, from Björk to James Blake to Frank Ocean, and laid the foundation for what’s to come. COALS is a natural progression but a major step forward in style and substance. The album, which she debuted in full at a live listening party with the Seattle Symphony, will feature 11 tracks mixed by Kyle Ross (Kanye West, Zayn Malik, John Legend) including the stand outs “Unwind” and “Send Down Your Love.”

Building upon appearances at Capitol Hill Block Party, CMJ, Sasquatch Music Festival, Decibel Festival, Benaroya Hall, and dates with the likes of Bilal, Thievery Corporation, Deltron 3030, The Antlers, SZA, and Daley, Shaprece is more than ready to present a focused and self reflective body of work.

No stranger to pushing the boundaries of conventional sound, Shaprece has left room beyondCOALS for expansion and growth, as she further develops her unique style. With production on her follow up to COALS already under way, she continues to evolve into the polished and innovative musician that she has already proven to be.


10/14 – Seattle, WA – Seattle Fashion Week / Ready To Wear
10/15 – Seattle, WA – Seattle Fashion Week / Custom Couture


[Self-Released] Release Date: Nov. 4, 2016

1. Dropping Feathers
2. How Are You
3. Remember
4. Carry You
5. US
6. Wake Up Melting Snow
7. Send Down Your Love
8. Unwind
9. Two || Wilting
10. Loved Again

Official Site