Skip to main content

Flower Girl shares track “You Can’t Always Get What You Are” from upcoming album via Brooklyn Vegan

-‘Tuck In Your Tie-Dye’ out November 11 via BUFU Records

STREAM: “You Can’t Always Get What You Are”
Soundcloud / Brooklyn Vegan


(Photo Credit:  Photo Andrew Gibson – click image for high-res version)

Today via Brooklyn VeganFlower Girl shares the third track “You Can’t Always Get What You Are” from their upcoming album.  Their album ‘Tuck In Your Tie-Dye’ is due November 11 on BUFU Records and Designer Medium Records.  Click here to pre-order the album.

Like their namesake implies, FLOWER GIRL is a celebration of youthful exuberance, tossing up sing-a-long anthems, and heady licks to decorate your path. Led by perennially grinning frontman Nick Morris, this NYC-based five-piece of hard-working chillers revels in an optimist high of contagious energy. With a sound that blends storytelling lyrics, catchy power pop hooks, understated alt-rock noodling, and a steady rhythm section grounded in a country backwoods feel, Flower Girl occupy a musical space all their own. Having accrued a hometown reputation for spreading smiles with raucous and revelatory live performances — featuring somersaults, whip cracks and lots of crowd dancing — these grown-up kids sure know how to start a party.

After earning fervent fans with their debut ‘Okie Dokie Howdy Doody’, and playing high profile shows in New York with such artists as Juan Wauters, Peach Kelli Pop, and Jimmy Whispers to name a few, Flower Girl is ready to spread their free spirit shred with the wider world on their latest effort ‘Tuck In Your Tie-Dye’. Buoyant and cheerful throughout, this colorful collection of sweet-hearted songs could warm the coals of a modern day scrooge with their impassioned appeals to have some just have some fun already. Akin to the vibes of Jonathan Richman and the be yourself spirit of 90’s Nickelodeon, Songs like “Let’s Build a Fort” drive that message home with cheeky refrains to escape the pretension and pessimism of the city, pairing guitar licks, group calls and some well-placed cowbell. Likewise, the peppy pop of “Hi5’s” rejoices in the simple pleasure of slapping some skin and spreading the love.

You can almost hear the smile in Morris’ conversational croon. However, it’s not all sunshine in Flower Girl’s world, as softer tracks like “Dorthy Says” and “2 Late 2 Be a Cowboy” feature a tinge of twangy country smoothness that betrays a quiet melancholy of missed opportunity, loneliness, and the dislocation of being a little guy in the big city. With most songs coming in under the 3 minute mark, these songs are compact and to the point. No breakout solos or meandering interludes distract from their overall message, just feel good vibes you won’t mind ricocheting around your skull like so many jumping jellybeans. So serve yourself a stack a flap jacks, pour on that sweet syrup and get ready to flip for Flower Girl.

Tour Dates

11/05/16 – Ridgewood, Queens – Trans-Pecos


(click artwork for high res)

Flower Girl
Tuck In Your Tie
BUFU Records / Designer Medium
[Click here to pre-order]

Street Date: November 11, 2016

1. Tuck in Yer Tie-Dye
2. Let’s Build A Fort
3. Hi-5s
4. Wading Online
5. Dorothy Says
6. 2 Late 2 Be A Cowboy
7. I Saw A Mouse
8. Breathmint
9. Bizness Plant
10. You Can’t Always Get What You Are
11. Tucked Out
12. Scary Drive II