Skip to main content

So Many Wizards announce upcoming album ‘Heavy Vision’ due April 14, share first track “Sic Boys”

‘Heavy Vision’ due April 14 on Lolipop Records

Listen : ‘Sic Boys’
Soundcloud / Austin Town Hall

Photo Credit : James Juarez

So Many Wizards is the dreamy, jangly dream-punk project led by Nima Kazerouni.  Today on Austin Town Hall, the band shares “Sic Boys“, the first track off their upcoming album .  ‘Heavy Vision’ is due April 14 on Lolipop Records.

What began as a solo bedroom project indebted to Syd Barrett evolved into a fully-formed band that has garnered attention from Pitchfork, Stereogum, Aquarium Drunkard, and Impose Magazine; spins on BBC 1, KCRW, and SiriusXM (courtesy of Lou Reed); festival stops at SXSW and CMJ; and US and UK tours. A week after the release of their debut album, Warm Nothing, Kazerouni’s daughter was born causing his sudden move to Tucson, Arizona, taking him 500 miles away from his bandmates. Despite the distance, the band managed to release their “Night Chills”/”Daydream” 7”, a single with Converse Rubber Tracks, and shared the stage with Thee Oh Sees, No Age, Colleen Green, Audacity, Feels, Terry Malts, Lovely Bad Things, and more.

Now as a father, the delusion of adulthood began to set in. A new collection of fears and anxieties began to creep into his psyche. This was exacerbated by a series of deaths – a family member, a best friend, and the end of an 8-year long relationship. The experience left Kazerouni spiritually exhausted, culminating in a nervous breakdown, or “nervous breakthrough.” Kazerouni was finally able to lose a grip of himself and let all the problems and anxieties that he tried so hard to ignore wash over him. It was here where Kazerouni found refuge in the idea of mortality, instilling in him a newfound determination to make the most of the present, because everyone’s life ultimately ends the same way. This emotional journey, from its dark hues to its liberated epiphany, is chronicled in Heavy Vision.

Recorded over 6 months with producer/engineer Eric Penna (Samira’s Infinite Summer, SadGirl), Heavy Vision contains some of the grittiest, fastest and most ambitious songs the group has written to date. The band is rounded out by drummer Erik Felix, who has been a member of the band for all but the first EP, bassist Devin Ratliff and guitarist Tomemitsu. The album begins with Kazerouni’s newfound perspective on “Sic Boys.” Tranquil, opening chords are pushed along by building drums and skittering cymbals; vocals are panned to give the impression of Kazerouni speaking to himself. “I don’t care if I drown in there, I don’t care if I get swept out to sea… nothing to lose,” he sings. Tomemitsu’s intricate leads and spacey tones introduce a spark of psychedelia that is felt through the album’s murky yet spritely 12-song track-list. “Modern Way” speaks to those lost in the monotony of life over a melodic bass line and breezy guitar making for the softest and brightest moment on the album. “Before She Runs” is a somber recollection of a failed relationship that alternates between a buoyant rhythm and contemplative pre-chorus that recalls Black Tambourine. “It Comes For Us” is energy-packed with its pounding drums, driving bass and the most ripping guitar solo found on any So Many Wizards song. “Just Poison” resembles Jay Reatard (notably the band’s biggest influence) if he wrote for a dream pop band. “Crows” shows Kazerouni at his lowest, waiting for his body to be picked for dead, as he channels Marine Girls and John Dwyer all in the same breath. The album concludes with “Hash,” a thrashy number that offers moments of relief before being thrust back into the fray. In a way, the song reflects what Kazerouni has experienced, and what he’s learned. Life is a series of chaotic episodes, interspersed with moments of serenity and solutions – and it doesn’t stop, “so take it for what it is.”

Tour Dates
05/06/17 – Pomona, CA – The Glass House*

* = w/ Colleen Green, Adult Books

(click artwork for high res)

So Many Wizards
Heavy Vision
Lolipop Records
Street Date: April 14, 2017

1. Sic Boys
2. Swimming Pool
3. Daydream
4. Modern Way
5. Before She Runs
6. Night Chills
7. It Comes For Us
8. Just Poison
9. Crows
10. No One Cares
11. Wiper Blades
12. Hash


Press Assets