Skip to main content

Do Right’ is due May 4

Listen / Watch : “Split in Two” –
Soundcloud / Youtube

Photo Credit : Yasamine June

Today, Sugar Candy Mountain shares the first track and video for “Split in Two” off their upcoming album via Northern Transmissions.  “Split in Two” was produced by Jason Quever of Papercuts and the video was directed by TG Eaton.  Do Right is due May 4 on PIAPTK Records.  Click here to pre-order the album.

Part travelogue, part response to the current, turbulent climate, Do Right gives voice to the deeply nested anxiety of modern times attempting to offer a balm.  Nature it seems, is where the band often goes to calibrate it’s moral compass so frequently upended by the daily news-cycle.  Sugar Candy Mountain invites you to join them on this journey singing “There’s a quiet place I go when I need to find my way/ There’s a quiet place inside/ Come on in just knock and a door will open”. Musically, the band remains rooted in 60’s and 70’s rock, with their signature honey sweet vocals. Do Right leans more heavily on synthesizer than the band’s previous records lending the album a more modern feel.  The album pairs the ephemeral orchestral arrangements of The Beach Boys with the pop sensibility of George Harrison on “All Things Must Pass”.  Oscillating between the hazy psychedelic pop of Mild High Club, the driving energy of Dungen and the danceable familiarity of The Supremes, Do Right is a perfect cocktail of old and new, imploring the listener to take a ride into the sunset with Sugar Candy Mountain.

Check out Sugar Candy Mountain on their European Tour, flyer below (click flyer for hi res):

Sugar Candy Mountain
Do Right
PIAPTK Records
[Pre-Order] Street Date: May 4, 2018

1. Split In Two
2. Crystaline
3. This Time Around
4. Happening
5. Quiet Place
6. Mar-a-Logo
7. Tidal Wave
8. Losing Myself
9. Stickeen
10. Do You Know The Place?

Press Assets