Skip to main content

‘Mirror’ will be out February 2019

Soundcloud : “Plane” –
Soundcloud / Austin Town Hall

Ten years after they met in high school in the suburbs of San Jose, California, Jared, Michael, and John formed Balms in San Francisco in 2013.  At first playing loud pop-rock sets in John’s basement, as the band spent more and more time in San Francisco record stores and venues, their sound began to evolve — dreamy at first glance, but raw at the core of it. Some used the term “dreamare pop” to describe their sound: dream pop mixed with an uneasy, dark undertone of a nightmare.

Armed with the sound of fuzzed out guitars, melodic bass, clear above-ground vocals, and dynamic percussion, the band self-released their first series of singles. With glowing reviews and the support of the underground shoegaze community, the band spent the next year self-recording, mixing, and releasing their self-titled EP. The band went on to tour the west coast extensively, where they honed in on an energetic yet vulnerable live performance.

In the last few years as they wrestled with unfolding questions, the realities of their lives, and with each other, Balms went on to write what would become their debut LP, Mirror. An introspective record with a heavier, darker tone, the album narrates the confrontation of one’s shadow self. ‘Mirror’ is slated to release in February 2019, with a tour forthcoming.

(single art, album art to be announced soon)

Street Date: February 1, 2019

Track Listing:
1. Nothing In
2. Bones
.3. Dark Rider
4. Plane
5. No One Is A Way Down
6. I Feel Fine
7. Mirror
8. The Room
9. Hands Out
10. Candle
11. Setting Sun