Skip to main content

Rare DM hunts down closure in her new video/single “Softboy” via NYLON; ‘Vanta Black’ is out on April 12th

‘Vanta Black’ is due April 12

Stream: “Softboy”
NYLON / Vevo / SoundCloud


Rare DM states “This song was written following a breakup with a serious boyfriend (the softboy), and details the struggles of modern tinder dating with the constant awareness/anxiety of running into them online, not just in person. The video is by Jake and Oliver Co. and was extremely cathartic to shoot; through acting out a Kill Bill-esque version of me – one that doesn’t accept shitty excuses – I got closure I didn’t feel like I had before.”

Vanta Black is the debut album from Rare DM, the solo project of Brooklyn singer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Erin Hoagg.  Following in the shadows of the previously released “Almost a Year” and the more recent single “Caracal,” Vanta Black tackles subjects and moods fit for the titular hue, itself the blackest manmade pigment (currently under exclusive license to artist Anish Kapoor’s studio). Erin’s Billie Holliday-indebted croon lilts with the relaxed calm of someone whose already cried away all the tears they could muster long ago— too exhausted to fret and now comfortable enough in the darkness to blend in with it.  She sings tales of relationships damaged by distance and destructive tendencies, somewhat reluctantly relieved by freedom yet ridden with separation anxiety.  Her pulsating, twilight-lit productions that accompany recall mid-aughts-to-modern-day takes on goth, post-punk, and new wave. Perhaps in a nod to the still-burgeoning live synth and dance scene in her hometown of Brookyln, Hoagg prefers to play her concert sets fully live, all analog, seamlessly blending Octotrack, Machinedrum, triggers, and synth.

Rare DM’s debut album is set to release April 12, 2019.

Tour Dates
3/14 – Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere w/ TESHA & DOV
3/18 Washington, D.C. – Slash Run w/ Sexy Bicycle

Rare DM
Vanta Black
Release Date: April 12, 2019

Track List:

1. Panam
2. Softboy
3. Jade
4. Almost a Year
5. Think Quiet
6. Dark Eyes
7. Spell Cast
8. Best
9. Caracal
10. Wholeheart
11. Night Watch

Rare DM is Erin Louise Hoagg
All songs written and arranged by Rare DM
Lyrics by Rare DM
Guitar on “Caracal” performed by Oscar Allen Guinn IV
Produced and Engineered by Rare DM and Patrick Canaday
Mixed by Patrick Canaday at Applied Sciences in Brooklyn, New York
Mastered by Joe Laporta at Sterling Sound in Edgewater, New Jersey
Cover by Lissy Elle Laricchia