Skip to main content

Houses of Heaven shares “Dissolve The Floor” video via CVLT Nation, debut LP out now on Felte

VIDEO: “Dissolve The Floor” –
YouTube / CVLT Nation

Today Houses of Heaven shares the official music video for “Dissolve The Floor,” the most dancefloor-ready single from its debut LP Silent Places which was just released via the Felte Label. CVLT Nation has the premiere.

some words from the band on the video:

The visible economic and social disparities in San Francisco create the illusion of parallel worlds, which gives living in the city a painfully surreal quality. “Dissolve the Floor” depicts a moment in two people’s lives when the false veil of separation is lifted and their worlds suddenly become one. By combining projected and three-dimensional images, the video takes the idea of parallel existence into abstract territory inspired by classic sci-fi and horror films.”
– Keven Tecon (vocalist/guitars/keys)

Layering synths, guitars, electronic percussion, and live drums, Houses of Heaven fuses early industrial and techno rhythms with the melodicism of shoegaze and a heavy dose of dub-influenced effects. Formed in Oakland, California by Keven Tecon, Adam Beck, and Nick Ott, the band follows up the Remnant EP with their first full-length album titled Silent Places. Written against the backdrop of the Northern California wildfires, ever-growing tent cities and the continued rise of empty luxury housing in the Bay Area, the album explores the intimate experiences that transpire within the chaotic confines of modern living.

Opener “Sleep” basks in the tension surrounding the album’s inception with blown-out kick drums, claustrophobic verses, and deteriorating vocal effects. Sharp arpeggiated synths and woozy strings neutralize the track’s subterranean anxiety with texture and sensuality.  Produced by Matia Simovich (Inhalt) and with engineering credits that include Monte Vallier (Weekend) and John McEntire (Tortoise), it’s a potent introduction to the muscular sound design underpinning the album.

Booming taiko drums sound the beginning of “Dissolve the Floor,” the album’s most club-ready track. A pulsing arpeggio gives the song its industrial heartbeat while disintegrating tape delay throws menace into the hazy atmosphere. The undulating techno beat breaks and repairs itself with seductive and satisfying timing. “In Soft Confusion” doesn’t stray from the album’s obsidian narrative as it envisions and ponders the aftermath of human extinction. Sonically speaking, though, it’s the album’s most uptempo offering with Tecon’s supremely infectious chorus vocal hook and Beck’s dizzying guitar riffs.

The intricate electronic drum programming is elevated by Ott’s live drumming, which lends a refreshingly human touch to the potentially icy, and often mechanical, sonic territory of synth-driven music. Adding density to the album’s shadowy allure are the unusual sounds and vintage outboard effects that Tecon and Simovich impressively maneuver into the album’s tonal palette. Great care has been taken to finesse familiar pop structures with an inventive edge. It’s this mindfulness of past and present that is sure to secure Silent Places as a standout album in the new decade.

Silent Places is released by Felte digitally on May 01, 2020 and on vinyl May 22.

RIYL: New Order, The Cure, Odonis Odonis, Nine Inch Nails, Boy Harsher

Houses of Heaven
Silent Places
Street Date: May 1, 2020

Pre-Order here

Track List:

01. Sleep
02. Dissolve The Floor
03. All Possible Obstacles Are Present
04. A Place Between
05. Channeling
06. Time Apart
07. In Soft Confusion
08. Pathwork
09. Caresses