Skip to main content

CYRRCA’s epic debut LP is out today; stream it via Week in Pop

Week in Pop / Visual LP Trailer / Spotify / Apple / YouTube

Today CYRRCA’s epic self-titled debut LP which details the experiences of a multi-year journey around the world is streaming everywhere. Week in Pop has the exclusive feature. Check out the full visual album trailer here and be sure to head over to CYRRCA’s YouTube to watch all 13 accompanying videos.

CYRRCA’s perspective is fundamentally that of a seeker, shaped by the transcendent power of poetry and a fascination with world cultures and mystic traditions. These themes form CYRRCA’s sonic atmosphere, layering it with personal explorations into mythology, spirituality, humanity, self-discovery and transformation.

Inspired by a multi-year journey across the globe, CYRRCA’s self-titled LP is a blend of the iconic, the intimate, and the mythic. The 13 tracks on the album weave together the happenings of a trek that stretches from the Trans Siberian Railway to the Montenegrin coastline; from Rumi’s shrine in Mevlana, Turkey to the Korean mountainside. The lyrics tell the story of the project as it began – not as an album, but rather a collection of manuscripts, journals and poems that were written while on this spiritual quest. Years later, those writings were adapted into an album that explores themes of self-discovery and transformation.

The music features an array of production styles, with each track inspired by distinct locales; the ambient work of K. Leimer invokes the Northern Irish coast on the introspective “North Sea”, K-pop wiz-kid and BTS producer Jinbo The Superfreak sets the tropical tone for “Temple Charm”, while Sailli conjures up a minimal vibe on “Beograd”. The wide reaching spectrum of sounds and influences are as various as the far-flung sojourn that inspired the work. The resulting record is a contemporary epic; gritty, but chiseled to exacting form.

The CYRRCA project includes a 13-track album, an accompanying art book, an episodic visual album with full-length music videos for every song and thirteen 3D animated symbols, which illustrate the mythic narrative that shimmers throughout the work.

Above photo credit: Jonah Whipp

Street Date: February 26th, 2021

Track List:

1. North Sea
2. Beograd
3. Namsan
4. Temple Charm
5. Qufu Interlude
6. Apocalypse Tao
7. Free
8. Pyrrhic Victories
9. Still Thankful
10. Bonifacio
11. Nothing
12. My Lies
13. Istanbul