Skip to main content

Watch Doohickey Cubicle’s new “Milano Sport” video via Week in Pop; debut LP out 3/12

WATCH: “Milano Sport” – 
YouTube / Week in Pop / Bandcamp / SoundCloud / Spotify / Apple

photo credit: Jordyn Taylor-Robins

Today Doohickey Cubicle are sharing their “Milano Sport” video from their upcoming debut LP, Don’t Fix Anything ;). Week in Pop has the premiere for the bizarre miniature swimming pool soirée featuring some eccentric clay characters. Don’t Fix Anything 😉 will be self-released on March 12, 2021. In case you’ve missed the previous singles, check out “Sign Here” & “Thinking.”

Regarding the origin of the song, Doohickey Cubicle explained: “We were in Milan starting a short tour and our accommodation was a storage unit in an old building (Airbnb trickery!). In a strange and heavy headspace, we set out to find a shower and after being turned down at several gyms, we stumbled upon MilanoSport. Very unprepared, we ended up swimming laps in packed lanes and drying off with our tee shirts. I left with an altered, say lighter, disposition and began jotting down words in my phone notes which became this song. For the video accompaniment, we built a miniature public pool with Sculpey clay, from the buoys to the flutter boards and a handful of fictional characters — shot during the early days of quarantine last March.

Similarly to this song, the rest of the Don’t Fix Anything 😉 collection came out of lived moments reaching as far back as 2018. Some were recorded and developed in our home studio in Vancouver and others took shape in our friends Montreal home studio while cat sitting for them. Most of the songs are the processing of various mental states and a questioning of our conditioning. Both contemplative and cheeky at times, light and heavy, depending how you feel like taking it in. It’s all for you to just get lost and find enjoyment in the dreamy yet groovy sounds coming out of the Doohickey Cubicle.”

Doohickey Cubicle (formerly Booty EP) are a dream-inducing synth-pop duo that ooze with creativity. Whether it’s their energetic and visually stunning live shows, their self-produced singles or their wealth of DIY music videos, they’re always up to something, and it’s always interesting.

Since 2017, Doohickey Cubicle – made up of Alli Deleo on keys/vocals and Francis Hooper on guitar/synth – have been creating art in multiple mediums, and always from the ground up. Beginning as a small project that mostly focused on self-recorded off-the-cuff late-night jams with humorous vocal improvisations, the group didn’t take themselves too seriously (hence the original, or current name). That being said, after a handful of shows, the duo began to realize that the audience felt differently, as they were visibly taken back not only by their ethereal musical presence, but by their captivating projection visuals, which have since then become a staple for the band’s live show. It wasn’t long after that they released their first EP What What and the Who Now? followed by the single Mascarpone in 2018, showing a new focus towards their work, and no lack of inspiration or momentum after being discovered as an up-and-coming power duo in Vancouver’s indie-pop scene. Since then the group has played festivals like Reeperbahn(Hamburg), Linecheck Festival (Milan), POP Montreal (Montreal), Music Waste (Vancouver), Rifflandia (Victoria, BC), Fringe Festival (Vancouver), and Westward Festival (Vancouver). They’ve toured in Italy the last two years in November, along with shows in Berlin and London, a Pacific Northwest tour, and shows in Calgary, Toronto, Montreal and NYC.

More recently, the duo released their new single “Sign Here” on January 29th which will be on their self-released debut LP Don’t Fix Anything 😉, due in March 2021. Recorded between Montreal and their home studio The Juniper Room, and self-produced as always, Don’t Fix Anything 😉 is without a doubt their most ambitious musical venture to date, with countless collaborations with notable artists, multiple single releases, remixes, and numerous additions to their already towering arsenal of music videos.

Written by Kurtis Floyd of Sled Island

Doohickey Cubicle
Don’t Fix Anything 😉
Street Date: March 12, 2021

Track List:

1. Sign Here
2. Milano Sport
3. Thinking
4. ~Interlude~
5. Hotel Beds
6. Forever
7. Airbag
8. Mildly Concerned
9. Sign Here (Blue Hawaii windows down remix)