Skip to main content

NJ slowcore duo Joyer shares “Cranky Boy” video & announces new LP; Perfect Gray is due 9/24 via Julia’s War

WATCH: “Cranky Boy” –
YouTube / Streaming Services

Today Joyer are sharing their lead single/video & announcing their forthcoming LP. Watch the video for “Cranky Boy”. Joyer’s Perfect Gray will be released on September 24th, 2021 via Philadelphia label, Julia’s War.

Nick & Shane Sullivan had this to say about the single/upcoming LP:

“’Cranky Boy’ comes from the silly frustrations and conflicts that arise with people you’re close with for a long time that don’t usually mean anything and blow over almost immediately. Both of us studied film in school so our music has always been really inspired by movies we love. During the time that we were working on “Cranky Boy” we we’re both really sucked into simple slice of life movies, like Good Morning by Ozu and Where is My Friends House by Kiarostami where the conflicts are really small and ultimately make you feel good after watching them. This also kind of plays into our music video which we tried to instill a home movie type feel and display the idea of a collection of moments collaged together. Nick originally just had the riff that he was playing with for a while but as it turned into an actual song it ended up sounding a lot more playful and poppy than we’re used to, which ultimately introduces one of the many new ideas we experimented with when making Perfect Gray, an album in which we try to refine our existing sound while doing some things that are new to us. Experimenting is something that keeps us interested in songwriting. We like to push ourselves to try something different and adapt to our constantly changing tastes in music and art.”

Having both come from a film background, brothers Nick and Shane Sullivan use their inspiration from directors like Tsai Ming-Liang and Andrei Tarkovsky to craft bleak and unadorned slowcore which emphasizes bizarre and ominous imagery, under the moniker Joyer. Their lyrics mix themes of environmental catastrophe, industrial decay, and internal struggle with an effort to stay positive and find contentment in personal meaning.

The Deli Magazine described Joyer’s music as “an engaging mix of slacker rock wordplay and discordant instrumentation, both boisterous in its separate parts yet quiet in execution.” Writing about their 2020 album Sun Into Flies, Post-Trash had this to say: “Joyer are quietly making some of the finest recent slowcore music […] To listen to Joyer is to miss live music: not of the large concert arena type, nor a neighborhood bar show, but simply just a wonderful house show.”

Their latest release, Perfect Gray, marks their debut on the Philadelphia-based label Julia’s War.

Perfect Gray
(Julia’s War)
Street Date: September 24, 2021

Track List:

1. Worst Thing
2. Crows
3. Perfect Gray
4. In The Dirt
5. Creek
6. Milk
7. Cranky Boy
8. Nothing
9. Lucky
10. I Was Wrong
11. Rain Came Down Sideways
12. Two Times
13. Pulled Teeth
14. Finally One
15. Breeze


Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Bandcamp / Spotify / Apple