Skip to main content

Listen to Foamboy’s new single, “Peach Smoothie” – debut LP, My Sober Daydream, is due 10/1

[click here to pre-save the LP]

STREAM: “Peach Smoothie” –
Spotify / Apple / Instagram

Today Portland duo, Foamboy, are sharing their newest single, “Peach Smoothie” ahead of their forthcoming debut LP. My Sober Daydream will be self-released on October 1st. ICYMI: check out their “Better” music video that Consequence of Sound called one of their favorites of 2021 so far.

Foamboy gave some words on the new single:

“‘Peach Smoothie’ was written in the dead of winter about the sudden end of a young relationship. The trance feel of the song and the repeated lyrics are meant to evoke the hopeless, obsessive retracing of one’s steps to try to understand what went wrong. The melodic lines spiral out of sync with the chord changes, the way a mind can be stuck on multiple loops of thought. Much like the single “Better,” this is another song about feelings made worse by the winter. This tune in particular came to be in the winter of 2020, the first holiday season I spent away from home due to COVID-19 precautions. Taken out of the breakup context, this is also very much a song about aimlessly stalking around your empty house during winter break.”

Foamboy are a Portland-based duo comprised of producer Wil Bakula and vocalist Katy Ohsiek. They met in Salem, OR and worked together for a number of years in the experimental musical collective Chromatic Colors. In this group, Wil and Katy collaborated with a wide variety of instrumentalists, released 2 full-length albums, and graced the stages of many outdoor festivals, bars, and basements. In the events of 2020, Wil and Katy took this time to take on a new project, and Foamboy came to be.

Foamboy’s debut album, My Sober Daydream, is a neat package of jazz-inspired danceable pop with a hyper-personal lyrical edge. Listeners will enjoy influences of disco and funk styles while being reminded of artists like The Internet, Men I Trust, and Thundercat. The lyrics wrangle with topics of identity, relationships, gender dynamics, and late-stage capitalism; the delivery of these lyrics akin to a conversation over the phone with your best friend. Katy’s melodies twist and float over Wil’s rich, synth-centric soundscapes.

press photo credit: Nathan Schmidlin

My Sober Daydream
Street Date: October 1, 2021

Track List:

1. Better
2. Read Your Mind
3. Laundry
4. Hate Me Too
5. Peach Smoothie
6. Stay Up, All Night
7. Alien
8. Logout
9. Shelter Me
10. Backseat


Website / Instagram / Facebook / YouTube / Spotify / Apple