Skip to main content

Hear Belaver’s new single “Bad Word Turn” – Lain Prone is due October 22nd via Niles City Records

STREAM / WATCH: “Bad Word Turn” lyric video –

Today Belaver is sharing a new single from his forthcoming LP titled “Bad Word Turn.” Watch the lyric video here. Belaver’s sophomore LP, Lain Prone, is due October 22nd via Robert Ellis’ brand new label, Niles City Records.

Lain Prone is Belaver’s second solo LP, the follow up to his 2019 album True Love Of Crime. The record is produced by country musician Robert Ellis and spiritually influenced by Neil Young, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Modest Mouse, Daniel Johnston & Bill Callahan. Lain Prone is sequenced like a novel: the opening track “Here It Comes“ serves as the thesis, and ends with the lyric, “I know it’s hard out here with all these assholes, with their laws and with their loopholes; but the worst thing that you can do is to think you’re not one too.”

Returning to live instrumentation and careful arrangement with an energetic live band presentation, this album laments detachment in the digital age. In the track “The Bilow”, the narrator acknowledges an implicit trust in the universal winds that lead and bind us. The record concludes with a dissonant experimental song in the vein of Tom Waits that is a conversation with the narrator’s former self.

Lain Prone is not just a societal critique, but an ode to self healing. Told through a tapestry of tracks about life’s everyday struggles and self reflection, Lain Prone shows us a way to address the dimming “American Dream”.

RIYL: Neil Young, Modest Mouse, Pavement, Bill Callahan, & Bonnie “Prince” Billy

Lain Prone
(Niles City Records)
Release Date:  October 22, 2021

1. Here It Comes
2. In The RL
3. 70’s Adventure 
4. The Storm
5. Gutted
6. Mount Misery
7. Monday
8. Death To The World
9. Bad Word Turn
10. Tower Of Silence
11. Satan’s Prayer
12. Burden Bearer
13. The Bilow
14. The Room


Instagram / Facebook / Bandcamp / Soundcloud / Twitter / Youtube / Spotify