Skip to main content

Brooklyn’s Dropper shares new single/video “Ok Ok Ok” ahead of debut LP

VIDEO: “Ok Ok Ok” –
YouTube / Streaming Services

“I think most people have gone through at least one breakup or had a friendship end that pretty much wrecked them for a little while. “Ok Ok Ok” is about going to a party and being hyper-aware of that other person’s presence. It’s about trying to overcome discomfort but in the process overcompensating and being (maybe just a little) petty. It’s about that desire to prove to that other person, and to yourself, that you’re okay when maybe the truth is, you’re not.” -Andrea

Dropper is the brainchild of Brooklyn multi-instrumentalist Andrea Scanniello, a lifelong musician and veteran of the NYC indie rock scene. Having played in local favorites like High Waisted, Stuyedeyed, TVOD and Russian Baths, Dropper shows Scanniello stepping into the spotlight as a songwriter and vocalist. She is joined by longtime collaborators Jono Bernstein (also of High Waisted), Yukary Morishima and Larry Scanniello.

The band will self-release their debut record, Don’t Talk to Me, in February 2022. Written and
recorded pre-pandemic, the LP centers on the ennui and spiritual exhaustion that comes with working in the service industry and participating in a local scene: the drinking, the late nights, the shallow friendships born over too many beers and cigarettes. Scanniello wrote the record as she scraped by working odd bar jobs and even a bowling alley, a painstaking personal inventory of her life thus far, born of an ugly break-up and analyzing the habits and patterns that no longer serve her as she reaches the end of her twenties.

They say the record is for “People who have worked in the service industry too long and
become curmudgeons at the ripe old age of 26. People who are lonely yet want to be left alone. People who drink because they are sad but also sad because they drink. Bisexuals with crumbs in their bed. Optimistic pessimists. Those with seasonal allergies. But overwhelmingly for people who, in lieu of being crushed by the eternal weight of existence, choose to scream internally with a smile upon their face.” In other words, all of us – every millennial struggling to remain true to themselves in a world as unrelenting as this one.

MUSIC VIDEO CREDITS Director: Leah Faye, Producer: Jono Bernstein, Creative Director: Abram Seaman and Logan Seaman, 1st Assistant Director: Yajing Wu, Director of Photography: Liza Gipsova, 1st Assistant Camera: Stephanie Guzman, 2nd Assistant Camera: Charis Storms, DIT: Gabriel Reyes, Gaffer: Adam Richlin, Key Grip: Alvin Adadevoh, G&E: Emma Jones, Wardrobe: Julie Kronick, Hair and Makeup: Cirsty Burton, Art Director: Meredith Metcalf, Art Dept. Support: Amber Adadevoh, BTS Photography: Cirsty Burton, Editor: Logan Seaman and Gabriel Reyes, SFX/VFX: Abram Seaman and Logan Seaman, Color: Abram Seaman, Title Design: Jake Hollings, Location Manager: Dotan Negrin, Gear provided by Lightbulb Rentals, Location: LUME studios


2/11 Brooklyn, NY – Union Pool

Don’t Talk To Me

(Dirt Dog)
Release Date: Feb. 11, 2022
[click here to pre-order]

Track Listing:

1. Two Dollar Beer
2. Don’t Worry
3. Better
4. Signal
5. Memoirs
6. Drive Thru Jesus
7. Ok Ok Ok
8. Waste of Time
9. Telephone