Skip to main content

Franklin Gothic’s debut LP is out today via Very Jazzed & Pleasure Tapes

an interesting, relaxing, dissonant LP that clicks together time and time again.” – The Alternative

STREAM: Into The Light –
Bandcamp / Spotify / Apple

Today Franklin Gothic’s debut LP is out everywhere via Very Jazzed and Pleasure Tapes. You can purchase/stream the album HERE. Franklin Gothic is the solo project of musical artist Jay DiBartolo and the record was made in collaboration with producer Erik Blood (who has worked with Shabazz Palaces, Pickwick, Tacocat, and more). In case you’ve missed them, watch Franklin Gothic’s previous videos/singles, “Mr. Hangman,”  “Slow Down Bang Bang,”  and “Spark.”

Into the Light draws inspiration from musical influences that stem back to Jay’s early ‘90s childhood. It showcases a variety of styles, from shoegaze to Americana, challenging the expectation that a band, record, or song is bound to any specific genre. The 12-song LP follows the ups and downs of the singer/songwriter’s experience, as he struggles to leave behind an old cynical view of the world to make room for a more openhearted one.

press photo credit: Victoria Escobar

Franklin Gothic
Into the Light
(Very Jazzed & Pleasure Tapes)
Street Date: August 19, 2022

Track List:

1. Beneath
2. Spark
3. Photograph
4. Slow Down Bang Bang
5. True Love
6. Mr. Hangman
7. Carry Me Away
8. ‘94
9. Waking Up
10. Into the Light
11. Bottleneck
12. One & Only