Skip to main content

A new chapter in the history of one of the most influential bands around is firmly underway. After igniting anticipation for the March 22nd release of their new album Glasgow Eyes with the singles ‘jamcod’ and ‘Chemical Animal’, The Jesus and Mary Chain now unveil their latest track ‘Girl 71’ via Fuzz Club.

Playing melodic, hook-laden power-pop with a gritty garage-rock edge, ‘Girl 71’ comes from the most instantly alluring extreme of The Jesus and Mary Chain’s sonic spectrum. A song of redemption from self-loathing through others, ‘Girl 71’ also delivers another enticing touch by contrasting Jim Reid’s distinctive drawling lead vocal with sweet backing harmonies courtesy of Rachel Conte.

As with the rest of the Glasgow Eyes album, ‘Girl 71’ was produced by brothers
Jim and WIlliam Reid at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio. Glasgow Eyes is available to pre-order HERE. Anticipation for the album has already seen three vinyl formats sell-out, but double colored vinyl and double black vinyl are still available, both of which feature artwork from William Reid. The album release has moved back slightly to March 22nd due to a delay in vinyl production.

As well as strong demand for both pre-orders and tickets, the return of The Jesus and Mary Chain has been hailed with a wave of support across all tastemaker platforms. Highlights so far included radio (a first play from Huw Stephens as well as a playlist at 6Music), streaming (Spotify’s Shoegaze Now and Legends Only plus Tidal’s Hot Rocks), and editorial (Clash, Consequence, Louder Than War, Mojo, NME, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Spin, The Guardian, The Line of Best Fit, The Quietus and Uncut).

The Jesus and Mary Chain’s extensive 40th anniversary headline tour of the UK, Ireland and Europe has just been boosted with confirmation of special guests Aircooled (featuring JAMC drummer Justin Welch) and deathcrash, while their summer festival schedule is also taking shape. Remaining tickets for the tour are available HERE.


05/11 Pasadena, CA – Cruel World

The Jesus and Mary Chain
Glasgow Eyes
(Fuzz Club)
March 8, 2024
Pre-order HERE

Track List:

1. Venal Joy
2. American Born
3. Mediterranean X Film
4. jamcod
5. Discotheque
6. Pure Poor
7. The Eagles and The Beatles
8. Silver Strings
9. Chemical Animal
10. Second of June
11. Girl 71
12. Hey Lou Reid

Follow The Jesus and Mary Chain:

Spotify | Apple | YouTube | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website